Blues Masters, Vol. 16: More Harmonica Classics

Blues Masters, Vol. 16: More Harmonica Classics


3 New & Used Starting at $5.59


With such a wealth of great harmonica blues out there, and with such an outstanding track record on Rhino's part in general when it comes to historical compilations, it's no surprise that their second anthology of harmonica blues is just as good as the first. There are fine cuts by many big guns here, including Little Walter, both Sonny Boy Williamsons, James Cotton, Jimmy Reed, Junior Wells, Paul Butterfield, Slim Harpo, and Sonny Terry (whose hard-rocking, electric "Hootin' Blues No. 2," from a 1956 RCA single, is a highlight). The less obvious choices make this a pleasure for mid-level blues fans looking for something they haven't heard before as well as more familiar material: Papa Lightfoot's "Jump the Boogie" is great, early raw electric blues with vocals that sound as if the mike was covered with sandpaper, and Doctor Ross' "Come Back Baby" is one of the most primordial blues recorded at Sun.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/14/1998
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227534622
catalogNumber: 75346

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Michael Bloomfield   Slide Guitar
Paul Butterfield   Harmonica,Vocals
William Clarke   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
James Cotton   Harmonica,Vocals
Blind John Davis   Piano
Willie Dixon   Bass
Buddy Guy   Guitar
Slim Harpo   Track Performer
Lazy Lester   Track Performer
Little Walter   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Louis Myers   Guitar
Jimmy Reed   Guitar,Harmonica,Track Performer
Eddie Taylor   Guitar
Elvin Bishop   Rhythm Guitar
J. Geils Band   Band,Track Performer
Doctor Ross   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Sam Lay   Drums
Papa George Lightfoot   Track Performer
Robert Lockwood   Guitar
Jerome Arnold   Bass
Geese August   Bass
Fred Below   Drums
Remo Biondi   Violin
Stephen Bladd   Drums,Vocals
Howlin' Wolf   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Lee Campbell   Drums
Milt Hinton   Bass
James Johnson   Guitar
Seth Justman   Organ,Piano
Fred Kaplan   Piano
Danny Klein   Bass
Ransom Knowling   Bass
S.P. Leary   Drums
Shorty Lenoir   Harmonica,Vocals
John Marotti   Trumpet
Reubin Martin   Washboard
Flaco Medina   Bass
Jack Myers   Bass
Mark Naftalin   Organ
Gabriel Pandy Perrodin   Guitar
Earl Phillips   Drums
James Polk   Organ
Gary Primich   Track Performer
Rudolph Richard   Guitar
Alex Schultz   Guitar
Sonny Terry   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Otis Spann   Piano
Luther Tucker   Guitar
Jonny Viau   Tenor Saxophone
Sonny Boy Williamson   Track Performer
Sonny Boy Williamson [II]   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Zach Zunis   Rhythm Guitar
Gene Brooks   Drums
Willie Johnson   Guitar
James "Pee Wee" Madison   Guitar
Alexander Lightfoot   Harmonica,Vocals
Walter Brown McGhee   Guitar,Vocals
Monroe Vincent   Percussion
James Cotton Blues Band   Track Performer
Paul Butterfield Blues Band   Track Performer
Rob Stupka   Drums
Dave Myers   Guitar
Clarence "Jockey" Etinne   Drums
Junior Wells' Chicago Blues Band   Track Performer
Sammy Brown   Drums

Technical Credits

William Clarke   Producer
Slim Harpo   Composer
Cub Koda   Liner Notes
Robert C. Smith   Producer
Mark Abramson   Contributor
Ralph Bass   Composer
Hugh Brown   Art Direction
Samuel Charters   Producer
Leonard Chess   Producer
J. Geils   Producer
Geoffrey Haslam   Producer
Ted Myers   Contributor,Editorial Coordinator
Gary Primich   Producer
Paul Rothchild   Producer
Stuart Sullivan   Producer
Sonny Boy Williamson [II]   Composer
Sam Phillips   Producer
Elizabeth Pavone   Contributor,Editorial Coordinator
Jay Miller   Producer
Robert Moore   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews