Blues Harmonica Giant: Classic Sides 1951-1956

Blues Harmonica Giant: Classic Sides 1951-1956

by Walter "Shakey" HortonWalter "Shakey" Horton


$24.92 $24.99 Save 0% Current price is $24.92, Original price is $24.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


Big Walter Horton was a giant on the amplified harmonica, bringing the electricity of the instrument into the modern blues era with his works as a sideman and as a bandleader. This three-disc box does a great job of looking at the length, breadth, and scope of his career with a disc of Horton solo and as a bandleader in the 1950s; a second disc of him working with the likes of Joe Hill Louis, Willie Nix, Mose Vinson, Johnny Shines, Tampa Red, Sunnyland Slim, and others during the same decade; and a third disc featuring Horton's 1970s work with Carey Bell. It's a nice and rounded overview of a remarkable musician.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/2010
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065230524
catalogNumber: 2305
Rank: 71031


Disc 1

  1. Cotton Patch Hotfoot
  2. What's the Matter with You
  3. Little Boy Blue
  4. Blues in the Morning
  5. Now Tell Me Baby
  6. I'm in Love with You Baby
  7. Black Gal
  8. Hard Hearted Woman
  9. Jumpin' Blues
  10. So Long Woman
  11. What's the Matter with You
  12. Little Boy Blue
  13. I'm I Love with You Baby
  14. Grandmother Got Grandfather Told
  15. In the Mood
  16. Grandmother Got Grandfather Told
  17. We All Gotta Go
  18. Little Walter's Boogie
  19. We All Gotta Go
  20. Little Walter's Boogie
  21. West Winds Are Blowing
  22. Little Walter's Boogie
  23. West Winds Are Blowing
  24. Walter's Instrumental
  25. Off the Wall
  26. Off the Wall
  27. Hard Hearted Woman
  28. Back Home to Mama

Disc 2

  1. Hard Hearted Woman
  2. Back Home to Mama
  3. Need My Baby
  4. Have a Good Time
  5. Need My Baby
  6. Selling My Whiskey
  7. Midnight Showers of Rain
  8. Prison Bound Blues
  9. Riding in the Moonlight
  10. Let's Take a Little Walk
  11. Easy
  12. Hydramatic Woman
  13. Tiger Man (King of the Jungle)
  14. Seems Like a Million Years
  15. Seems Like a Million Years
  16. Worry You Off My Mind
  17. Shine Boy
  18. Evening Shuffle
  19. Evening Shuffle
  20. Evening Sun
  21. No Name Blues
  22. Brutal Hearted Woman
  23. Gonna Call the Angel
  24. Gonna Call the Angel
  25. Big Stars Falling Blues
  26. Rambler's Blues
  27. Evalena
  28. Highway 61
  29. It's You Baby

Disc 3

  1. Hard Hearted Woman
  2. Sick & Tired
  3. Walter's Jump
  4. Leaving in the Morning
  5. Walter & Carey
  6. Walking by Myself
  7. My Eyes Keep Me in Trouble

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Walter "Shakey" Horton   Primary Artist
Willie Dixon   Bass
Earl Hooker   Guitar
Big Walter Horton   Harmonica,Vocals
Blind Willie Johnson   Guitar
Joe Hill Louis   Guitar,Drums,Vocals
Red Holloway   Tenor Saxophone
Harold Ashby   Tenor Saxophone
Tampa Red   Guitar,Vocals
Johnny Jones   Piano,Vocals
Mose Vinson   Piano,Vocals
Kenneth Banks   Bass
Carey Bell   Harmonica,Vocals,Guest Appearance
Fred Below   Drums
Lee Cooper   Guitar
Jimmy DeBerry   Guitar
Duncan   Drums
Jack Kelly   Piano,Vocals
Ransom Knowling   Bass
Lafayette Leake   Piano
S.P. Leary   Drums
Billy "Red" Love   Piano
Calvin Newborn   Guitar
Phineas Newborn   Piano
Willie Nix   Drums,Vocals
Odie Payne   Drums
Pinetop Perkins   Piano
Jimmy Rogers   Guitar
Otis Rush   Guitar
Johnny Shines   Guitar,Vocals
Sunnyland Slim   Piano,Vocals
Houston Stokes   Drums
Joe Willie Wilkins   Guitar
Albert Williams   Piano
Bob Woodfork   Bass,Guitar
Israel Franklin   Drums
George Lawson   Tenor Saxophone
Smith   Bass
Phineas Newborn   Drums
Edward Irvin   Drums
Willie Lacey   Guitar
John Cameron   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Neil Slaven   Annotation

Customer Reviews