Blue Nightfall

Blue Nightfall

by Jimmy LaFaveJimmy LaFave


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


On his seventh offering, and his first since 2001's Texoma, Okie beatnik cum Austin songwriter Jimmy LaFave listens deeply to the tender whispers of his Muse and lets flow with his most personal offering to date. LaFave has always given us song pictures of an America that has either disappeared or is on the verge; he has celebrated its highways, its people, and its heart. He has also given us some choice love songs. But on Blue Nightfall he has gone deep into the latter theme and has come up with a beauty. It's not that he's ignored his other concerns; there are road songs and topical tunes as well. But it's in LaFave's love songs that listeners get to hear a depth and vastness that feel new. LaFave's voice is his greatest asset and he uses it to great effect here, and his production is spot-on throughout. The title track, "Revival," "Sweet Sweet Love," "When You Were Mine," and "Rain Falling Down" are all broken-hearted ballads, colored in woven and textured acoustic and electric guitars accented by Radoslav Lorkovik's accordions, pianos, and organs, and supported by a taut yet subtle rhythm section in bassist Will Landin and drummer Wally Doggett. None of these songs cops out to cheap sentimentality or trite tropes. LaFave's grainy honeyed croon is the force that drives them, and splits them open for the listener to wedge into his words. Other love songs, such as "Shining On Through" and "I Wish for You," are more upbeat , though the searing tenderness and grace are ever-present. On the rockers, such as the rollicking "Bohemian Cowboy Blues" (featuring Gurf Morlix on guitar) and "Gotta Ramble," LaFave takes his barroom band through the changes and spits out his words with authority and raucous glee. Blue Nightfall is the finest studio recording of LaFave's career to date, and that's saying plenty.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/08/2005
Label: Red House
UPC: 0033651018322
catalogNumber: 183
Rank: 46427

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jimmy LaFave   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Guitar (Electric Resonator),Guitar (Baritone)
Gurf Morlix   Electric Guitar
Scott Martin   Dobro
Larry Wilson   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Radoslav Lorkovic   Organ,Piano,Accordion
Wally Doggett   Percussion,Drums
Gabe Rhodes   Electric Guitar
Will Landin   Bass Guitar,Double Bass,Acoustic Bass
Warren Hood   Fiddle,Mandolin
Bryan Peterson   Piano

Technical Credits

Jimmy LaFave   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Fred Remmert   Engineer
Gretchen Peters   Composer
Pete Lacker   Cover Photo

Customer Reviews