Bleak House: A Novel In Two Volumes: Volume 2

Bleak House: A Novel In Two Volumes: Volume 2

by Charles Dickens

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


At the centre of the novel there is a long-running legal case, 'Jarndyce and Jarndyce', which connects many different characters and sub-plots. The heroine of the novel is Esther Summerson who is raised as an orphan by Miss Barbary and does not know her parents´ identity. After the death of Miss Barbary, John Jarndyce becomes Esther´s guardian, and she moves in with him at Bleak House. There she makes a surprising discovery, and things start to move. Charles John Huffam Dickens (1812-1870) was an English writer and is regarded as the greatest novelist of the Victorian time. Some of the world´s best-known fictional characters were created by him. His short stories and novels enjoy everlasting popularity, and many modern critics and scholars even regard him as a literary genius. 'Bleak House' is one of Dickens´ major novels and was first published as a serial of 20 monthly instalments (1852-1853). This edition contains the original beautiful illustrations by Hablot Knight Browne aka Phiz (1815-1882).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9783961300693
Publisher: apebook Verlag
Publication date: 01/01/2017
Sold by: CIANDO
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 5 MB

About the Author

Charles Dickens (1812-1870) is probably the greatest novelist England has ever produced, the author of such well-known classics as A Christmas Carol, Great Expectations, David Copperfield and Oliver Twist. His innate comic genius and shrewd depictions of Victorian life — along with his indelible characters — have made his books beloved by readers the world over.

Date of Birth:

February 7, 1812

Date of Death:

June 18, 1870

Place of Birth:

Portsmouth, England

Place of Death:

Gad's Hill, Kent, England


Home-schooling; attended Dame School at Chatham briefly and Wellington

Customer Reviews