Pub. Date:
Blackwell Chronicles Volume 1

Blackwell Chronicles Volume 1

by Troy D. Smith


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 28


Tennessee born... Westward bound... Men to be reckoned with... This collection contains six stories about the Blackwell family and their adventures as they help settle the West. The Blackwell Claim introduces the four Blackwell brothers: Max, Duke, Caleb, and Jake as they join the California Gold Rush in 1850. Blackwell's Run (2011 Peacemaker Award finalist for Western Fiction) set in 1864, tells of Max as he serves in the U.S. Calvary and fights Indians while dealing with a glory-seeking Lieutenant. In The Stealing Moon, Texas Ranger Jake Blackwell meets a boy who is struggling to become a man after his brother is killed by Comanches in 1855. Blackwell's Stand (a 2011 Amazon Bestseller) tells what happens when Caleb faces an unexpected grizzly bear and more while deep in Ute country. The Windigo is not for the faint of heart. Max's son, Billy, becomes lost in the North woods with several other prospectors during the Klondike Gold Rush. Without supplies and with winter howling around them, desperation sets in.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781506029450
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 01/07/2015
Series: Blackwells
Pages: 162
Product dimensions: 5.25(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.35(d)

About the Author

Born in the Upper Cumberland region of Tennessee, Troy D. Smith has loved books even before he could read them. In 1995, his first short story was accepted by Louis L'Amour Western Magazine, and he has been published in magazines since then on a fairly regular basis.

Author of numerous award winning short stories and novels, Troy received his PhD at the University of Illinois and is currently a history professor at Tennessee Tech.

He says, "I don't write about things that happen to people - I write about people that things happen to."

To learn more about Troy D. Smith visit:

Customer Reviews