Blackwater

Blackwater

by Eve Bunting

Paperback(First HarperTrophy Edition)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

“A novel that will long flicker in readers' memories.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Fans of S. E. Hinton and Jerry Spinelli will devour this thrilling story about a harmless prank that goes too far.

Thirteen-year-old Brodie Lynch was ready for the perfect summer of adventure along the awesome Blackwater River. That was before everything changed forever. One act of mischief leads to a tragic death and even though Brodie was involved, the lies he tells to cover his tracks actually turn him into a hero. Guilt tears at him like the treacherous current of the Blackwater itself, but when mysterious notes are left at his door, his guilt transforms into fear. Someone saw what really happened. Will Brodie decide to tell the truth before the witness turns him in?

Fast paced and suspenseful to the very last page.

Reognized by the Golden Sower Award Masterlist and as a Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780064408905
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 08/08/2000
Series: Harper Trophy Books Series
Edition description: First HarperTrophy Edition
Pages: 160
Sales rank: 469,241
Product dimensions: 5.12(w) x 7.62(h) x 0.32(d)
Lexile: 570L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Eve Bunting was born in Ireland and came to California with her husband and three children. She is one of the most acclaimed and versatile children's book authors, with more than two hundred novels and picture books to her credit. Among her honors are many state awards, the Kerlan Award, the Golden Kite Award, the Regina Medal, the Mystery Writers of America and the Western Writers of America awards, and a PEN International Special Achievement award for her contribution to children's literature. In 2002, Ms. Bunting was chosen to be Irish-American Woman of the Year by the Irish-American Heritage Committee of New York.

Customer Reviews