Black and Blue/Tobacco Road [Bonus Tracks]

Black and Blue/Tobacco Road [Bonus Tracks]

by Lou RawlsLou Rawls


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Black and Blue and Tobacco Road were Lou Rawls' third and fourth records for Capitol cut in 1962 and 1963, respectively. The powers that be at the label made the decision to send Rawls into the studio with a swinging big band under the direction of Onzy Matthews and featuring some real heavyweights like saxophonists Curtis Amy, Teddy Edwards, and Sonny Criss; organist Groove Holmes; and bassist Curtis Counce. The choice didn't pan out commercially, but artistically it is a triumph. The band is perfect, the arrangements are tight and interesting, and Rawls sounds completely in his element as he belts out jazz standards like "Summertime" and "Gloomy Sunday." Most of the records are devoted to blues standards like "Trouble in Mind," "Stormy Weather," "St. James Infirmary," and "I'd Rather Drink Muddy Water," and while on paper they may look like the same old songs everyone does, Rawls brings them to life and even sets a few ablaze with his rich, rough, and powerful vocals. The best moment is his sparse and exhilarating version of "Tobacco Road," a tune that has come to be associated with him, mostly due to his live version cut a couple of years later on Lou Rawls Live! This version is a touch less exciting but just as impressive, and it is a treat to hear. In fact, both albums are a treat. Rawls may just be starting his long career, but he sounds fully formed, relaxed, and at home with the big band behind him. It makes for some of the most enjoyable Lou Rawls you'll hear, and fans of Rawls and great jazz and blues vocals should rejoice that Capitol has finally made the records available on CD.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/16/2006
Label: Imports
UPC: 0094635495720
catalogNumber: 5036117
Rank: 60906

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lou Rawls   Primary Artist,Vocals
Curtis Amy   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Frank Butler   Drums
Curtis Counce   Bass
Sonny Criss   Alto Saxophone
Joe Sample   Organ
Horace Tapscott   Trombone
Irving Ashby   Guitar
Lou Blackburn   Trombone
Bobby Bryant   Trumpet
Ray Crawford   Guitar
Onzy Matthews   Piano
Charles Wilson   Trombone
Charlie Kennedy   Alto Saxophone
Bud Brisbois   Trumpet
Louis Ciotti   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Teddy Edwards   Tenor Saxophone
Gene Edwards   Guitar
George Graham   Trumpet
Rene Hall   Guitar
Charles Harris   Drums
Leroy Henderson   Drums
Freddie Hill   Trumpet
Richard "Groove" Holmes   Organ
Joe Maini   Alto Saxophone
Jay Migliori   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Sid Miller   Tenor Saxophone
Jack Nimitz   Baritone Saxophone
Earl Palmer   Drums
Lester Robertson   Trombone
Bob Rolfe   Trumpet
Dalton Smith   Trumpet
Ronald Smith   Bass Trombone
Clifford Solomon   Tenor Saxophone
Joey Vasquez   Trombone
Walter Williams   Trumpet
Bob Knight   Bass Trombone
Alexander Nelson   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Harvey "Harmonica Fats" Blackston   Harmonica
Lou Ciotti   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Leroy Carr   Composer
Lead Belly   Composer
George Gershwin   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
W.C. Handy   Composer
Onzy Matthews   Arranger
Harold Arlen   Composer
Richard M. Jones   Composer
Oscar Brown   Composer
Peter Abbott   Engineer
Peter Chatman   Composer
Michael Cuscuna   Liner Notes,Reissue Producer
P.L. Johnson   Composer
John D. Loudermilk   Composer
Ron McMaster   Remixing
Nick Venet   Audio Production
Patrick Roques   Reissue Design
DuBose Heyward   Composer
George Jerman   Inlay Photography,Original Cover Photography
Ted Koehler   Composer
Rezsö Seress   Composer
L. Allen   Composer
Joe Primrose   Composer

Customer Reviews