Bitter Pill

Bitter Pill

by Gavin James


View All Available Formats & Editions
5 New & Used Starting at $1.99


The singer/songwriter's first full-length studio effort, Bitter Pill, arrives one-and-a-half years after his 12-track Capitol Records debut, Live at Whelans, which featured a solo Gavin James performing with only an acoustic guitar. The intimate setting and his impassioned delivery landed the recording in the Top 15 in his homeland of Ireland, as well as on the Dutch album chart. In a reversal of many artists' early discographies, Bitter Pill is essentially a studio version of that record, offering all but one its songs. ("Great Escape," an under-three-minute whistling ditty, didn't make the studio cut.) Two new tunes are added to the set list in its place: the part ballad, part folky foot-stomper "Remember Me" and the title track, "Bitter Pill." Carrying a soul-infused melody and vocal delivery, that song is reinforced with hymn-like, unison voices as James laments a lost love. For the most part, the LP's arrangements are sparse and loyal to the balladeering spirit of the writer's songs. "For You," which has one of the most affecting vocal performances, employs faint keyboards, guitar, kick drum, and rim-clicks that never draw attention from the singer's serenade to loneliness. More rousing arrangements, such as the full band and backing chorus on "Coming Home," offer variation but rarely quite capture the passion of the live versions. Exceptions are the few uptempo moments, such as "Say Hello," which adds texture via piano, drums, and extra guitars without trading intimacy that was never really a quality of the bubbly tune to begin with. James wrote (or co-wrote) all of the songs on both long players with the exception of his cover of the Magnetic Fields' "The Book of Love," written by Stephin Merritt. This proves to be a highlight of Bitter Pill, kept simple and sincere, and rightfully earns the closing spot on both albums.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2016
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602547751348
catalogNumber: 002455102

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gavin James   Primary Artist,Piano,Keyboards,Ukulele,Vocals,Background Vocals
Adam Wakeman   Hammond B3
Neil Cowley   Piano
Steve Schiltz   Guitar
Fraser T. Smith   Percussion,Keyboards
Ben Mark   Keyboards
Matthew Racher   Percussion,Drums
Ash Soan   Drums
Tom Herbert   Bass,Bass Guitar
Roly Platt   Harmonica
Alex H.N. Gilbert   Background Vocals
James Kenosha   Piano,Drums
Leo Taylor   Drums
Cam Blackwood   Synthesizer,Bass,Guitar,Synthesizer Bass
Max McElligott   Piano
Simon Ralph Goff   Violin,Viola
Emma Wigglesworth   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Greg Wells   Additional Production
Stephin Merritt   Composer
Sacha Skarbek   Composer
Fraser T. Smith   Programming,Producer,drum programming
Marc Carolan   Producer,Engineer
Lostboy   Programming
Davide Rossi   String Arrangements
Matthew Racher   drum programming
Paul "P-Dub" Walton   Engineer
Alex H.N. Gilbert   Producer,Executive Producer,Additional Production
James Kenosha   Producer,Engineer
Dennis Stainken   Marketing
Manon Grandjean   Engineer
Cam Blackwood   Producer,Engineer,drum programming,Instrumentation
Gavin James   Composer
Liam Thorne   Engineer
Matthew Emonson   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews