Billie Holiday's Greatest Hits [MCA]

Billie Holiday's Greatest Hits [MCA]

by Billie HolidayBillie Holiday




GRP's Greatest Hits is not designed for collectors or serious fans, as it will likely frustrate them. Casual fans, however, and the curious will be well served by this 19-track collection of highlights from Billie Holiday's Decca recordings, featuring such songs as "Easy Living," "Solitude," "God Bless the Child," "T'Ain't Nobody's Bizness if I Do," "Lover Man (Oh Where Can You Be)" and "Crazy He Calls Me." It's not an ideal collection, and it doesn't contain all of her great performances for Decca, but it's a nice sampler that makes for an effective introduction to this era.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/06/1995
Label: Verve
UPC: 0011105065320
catalogNumber: 653

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Billie Holiday   Primary Artist,Vocals
Buck Clayton   Trumpet
Tiny Grimes   Guitar
Budd Johnson   Tenor Saxophone
Mundell Lowe   Guitar
Specs Powell   Drums
Lester Young   Tenor Saxophone
Eddie Barefield   Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone
Billy Butterfield   Trumpet
Cozy Cole   Drums
Bob Haggart   Bass,Trumpet
Horace Henderson   Piano
Klink   Alto Saxophone
Carl Kress   Guitar
Bernie Leighton   Piano
Johnny Mince   Alto Saxophone
Joe Thomas   Tenor Saxophone
George Wettling   Drums
Bob Bain   Guitar
George Duvivier   Bass
Everett Barksdale   Guitar
Emmett Berry   Trumpet
Denzil Best   Drums
Larry Binyon   Tenor Saxophone
Johnny Blowers   Drums
Dave Bowman   Piano
Mort Bullman   Trombone
Russ Case   Trumpet
Big Sid Catlett   Drums
Henderson Chambers   Trombone
Lem Davis   Alto Saxophone
Bob Dorsey   Tenor Saxophone
George Dorsey   Alto Saxophone
Nick Fatool   Drums
Gordon Griffin   Trumpet
Joe Guy   Trumpet
Armand Karpoff   Viola
Leo Kruczek   Violin
Jack Lesberg   Bass
Kelly Martin   Drums
George Matthews   Trombone
Nuncio "Toots" Mondello   Alto Saxophone
Sol Moore   Baritone Saxophone
Tony Mottola   Guitar
Jimmy Nottingham   Trumpet
Rudy Powell   Alto Saxophone
Bernie Privin   Trumpet
Hank Ross   Tenor Saxophone
Hymie Schertzer   Alto Saxophone
Norris "Bunny" Shawker   Drums
John Simmons   Bass
Bill Stegmeyer   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Bobby Tucker   Piano
Dick Vance   Trumpet
Dicky Wells   Trombone
Shadow Wilson   Drums
Milt Yaner   Clarinet,Alto Saxophone
Paul Ricci   Tenor Saxophone
Kurt Reher   Cello
Stanley Webb   Baritone Saxophone
Sammy Benskin   Piano
Tony Faso   Trumpet
John Fulton   Clarinet,Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Bernard Kaufman   Tenor Saxophone
Charlie LaVere   Piano
Maurice Perlmutter   Viola
Joe Quadri   Violin
Joe Springer   Piano
Billy Taylor   Bass
Morris Lefkowitz   Violin
Daniel Perry   Guitar
Rostelle Reese   Trumpet
Armand Camgros   Tenor Saxophone
Haig Stephens   Bass
Jack Cressey   Alto Saxophone
George Serloff   Violin
Freddy Williams   Tenor Saxophone
Art Drellinger   Tenor Saxophone
David Friscina   Violin
Dave Harris   Tenor Saxophone
Charles Jaffe   Violin
John Levy   Bass

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Gordon Jenkins   Arranger,Director
Bob Haggart   Director
Tutti Camarata   Arranger,Director
Ervin Drake   Composer
Milt Gabler   Producer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Porter Grainger   Composer
Steve Lasker   Liner Notes
Andy McKaie   Liner Notes
John Simmons   Director
Bill Stegmeyer   Director
Clarence Williams   Composer
Buster Harding   Director
Bud Katzel   Director
Alba Acevedo   Art Direction
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Dan Fisher   Composer
Irene Higginbotham   Composer
Doris Tauber   Composer
William Tracey   Composer
Robert Prince   Composer
Bickley S. Reichmer   Composer
Robert Graham   Composer

Customer Reviews