Big City

Big City

by Lenny WhiteLenny White


$10.51 $13.99 Save 25% Current price is $10.51, Original price is $13.99. You Save 25%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 13


On his second solo album, Big City, Return to Forever drummer Lenny White leads an all-star cast on a jaunt through the diverse worlds of jazz fusion. The title track is a groove-oriented monster that unites the Brian Auger Oblivion Express with the Tower of Power horn section. While "Sweet Dreamer" is a soft ballad that features the singing of Linda Tillery, and "Rapid Transit" is a study in funk built around the bass playing of Verdine White, both songs benefit from the presence of Herbie Hancock on electric piano. Not to be forgotten, Lenny White shows off his penchant for sharp and accelerated drum cadences on interludes titled "Egypt" and "Ritmo Loco." Yet his leanings towards rock are taken a bit too far with Ray Gomez and Neal Schon trading epic guitar solos on "Dreams Come and Go Away" as well as "And We Meet Again." Fortunately the gap between sonic freak-outs is bridged by the exceptional "Enchanted Pool Suite," which features Miroslav Vitous on acoustic bass, Jerry Goodman on violin, and Jan Hammer on Minimoog.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/26/2017
Label: Wounded Bird Records
UPC: 0664140044128
catalogNumber: 441
Rank: 18597

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lenny White   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Bass,Piano,Conga,Drums,Keyboards,Timbales,Moog Synthesizer,oberheim,Roto Toms,Announcer,Mini Moog,Arp Strings,Moog Drum
Jerry Goodman   Violin
Linda Tillery   Vocals
Neal Schon   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Soloist
Tower of Power   Horn
Jan Hammer   Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano,Mini Moog
Herbie Hancock   Keyboards,Electric Piano
Bennie Maupin   Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Miroslav Vitous   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Onaje Allan Gumbs   Piano,Keyboards
Brown   Viola
Ray Gomez   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Track Performer,Soloist
Brian Auger   Organ,Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano
David Earle Johnson   Conga
David Nadien   Violin
Lamar Alsop   Violin,Viola
Raymond Beckenstein   Flute
Don Blackman   Track Performer
Alex Blake   Bass
Emilio Castillo   Tenor Saxophone
Clive Chaman   Bass
Louis Colin   Harp
Harry Cykman   Violin
Harvey Estrin   Flute
Barry Finclair   Violin
Paul Gershman   Violin
Mike Gibbs   Piano
Mic Gillette   Trombone,Trumpet
Patrick Gleeson   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Brass,Arp Strings
Paul Jackson   Bass
Paul Jackson   Bass
Gary King   Bass,Drums
Harold Kohon   Violin
Stephen "Doc" Kupka   Baritone Saxophone
Lennox Laington   Conga
Walter Levinsky   Flute
Jesse Levy   Cello
Alex Ligertwood   Guitar
Guy Lumia   Violin
Charles McCracken   Cello
Homer Mensch   Double Bass
Marcus Miller   Bass
Jack Mills   Guitar,Soloist
Marin Morganstern   Violin
Marvin Morgenstern   Violin
Lenny Pickett   Tenor Saxophone,Lyricon,Soloist
John Pintavalle   Violin
Max Pollikoff   Violin
Alan Shulman   Cello
Verdine White   Bass
Michael Comins   Violin
Greg Adams   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Lenny White   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Horn Arrangements
Ray Gomez   Arranger
Weldon Irvine   Horn Arrangements
Don Blackman   Composer
Don Cody   Engineer
George Engfer   Engineer
Mike Gibbs   Orchestration
Patrick Gleeson   Producer,Brass Arrangment
Bernie Kirsh   Engineer
Verdine White   Contributor

Customer Reviews