Big Beat [Bonus Tracks]

Big Beat [Bonus Tracks]

by SparksSparks

CD(German Import)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Most of Big Beat finds Sparks doing what they do best: spewing out clever, mile-a-minute lyrics over solid rocking accompaniment (this time, provided by a superior group of studio musicians). Drummer Hilly Michaels and guitarist Jeffrey Salen lend Ron and Russell Mael's songs considerable rock & roll authority. Standouts include the opening blast "Big Boy" (which was featured in the film Rollercoaster), the propulsive "Fill-Er-Up," and the falsetto-delivered proclamation "I Like Girls," apparently a leftover from their previous album, Indiscreet. Generally, however, they eschew the elaborate arrangements of Indiscreet and go for a powerful, stripped-down sound. As titles such as "Everybody's Stupid" and "Thrown Her Away (And Get a New One)" suggest, the album brims with decidedly politically incorrect (and often hilarious) lyrics. [The 2006 edition includes six bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 04/22/2008
Label: Imports
UPC: 0602498434123
catalogNumber: 5003203
Rank: 21779

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sparks   Primary Artist
Ron Mael   Keyboards
Russell Mael   Vocals
Sal Maida   Bass
Jeff Salen   Guitar

Technical Credits

John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Rupert Holmes   Producer
Michael Barbiero   Engineer
Bob Clearmountain   Engineer
Godfrey Diamond   Engineer,Remixing
Harvey Goldberg   Engineer
Sue Harris   Management
Ron Mael   Composer,Producer
Russell Mael   Composer,Producer
Earle Mankey   Producer
Tony Visconti   Producer
Pete Matthews   Tape Research
Daryl Easlea   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews