Belgarath the Sorcerer

Belgarath the Sorcerer

by David Eddings, Leigh Eddings

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reissue)

$9.77 $9.99 Save 2% Current price is $9.77, Original price is $9.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, November 22

Overview

Bestselling authors David and Leigh Eddings welcome readers back to the time before The Belgariad and The Malloreon series. Join them as they chronicle that fateful conflict between two mortally opposed Destinies, in a monumental war of men and kings and Gods.

When the world was young and Gods still walked among their mortal children, a headstrong orphan boy set out to explore the world. Thus began the extraordinary adventures that would mold that youthful vagabond into a man, and the man into the finely honed instrument of Prophecy known to all the world as Belgarath the Sorcerer.

Then came the dark day when the Dark God Torak split the world asunder, and the God Aldur and his disciples began their monumental labor to set Destiny aright. Foremost among their number was Belgarath. His ceaseless devotion was foredoomed to cost him that which he held most dear—even as his loyal service would extend through echoing centuries of loss, of struggle, and of ultimate triumph.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780345403957
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 06/28/1996
Series: Belgariad Prequel Series , #1
Edition description: Reissue
Pages: 736
Sales rank: 109,132
Product dimensions: 4.18(w) x 6.83(h) x 1.18(d)
Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

About the Author

David Eddings (1931-2009) published his first novel, High Hunt, in 1973, before turning to the field of fantasy with Pawn of Prophecy —the first book in his bestselling series, The Belgariad. With his wife Leigh, he authored several epic fantasy novel series, including The Malloreon, The Elenium, The Tamuli and The Dreamers.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Belgarath the Sorcerer 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
Gilathir More than 1 year ago
Belgarath is beyond doubt my favorite wizard/sorcerer type character. Witty, crotchety, honest, human, wise, everything a ancient powerful sorcerer should be. For those of you who are sticklers for details there are some contradictions between this book and the back story and history in the 2 series. Nothing major, just little things. Normally that kind of thing annoys me, but in this case could care less. Very good book. Though obviously you should read the Belgariad and the Mallorean first. Also great stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read both the Belgariad series as well as the Mallorean series and was happy as could be to see this book when it came out. I have since had to buy another copy because my first one got worn out from being read and reread. It was wonderful to see how Garath became Belgarath and how he progressed along his path. The background filled in the a lot of gaps in the basic story as well as the relationships among the characters of Polgara, Belgarath, Poledra and Beldin. It is definately a book to make you smile and laugh out loud as well as cry and gives one a chance to think of the "what if's". There is no doubt in my mind that these books and only the books that relate to the Belgariad and the Mallorean were inspired works, because I have not been impressed by anything else Eddings had to offer since then.
Guest More than 1 year ago
David Edding has done it again. After reading The Belgariad and The Malloreon i thought it couldn't get any better. I was proven wrong with the writing of this descriptive and detail novel of the life of the Sorceror, Belgarath. This is a book I would recommend to the most fickled reader. It's definitly a 5-star.
willowcove on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This entire series is wonderful. One of the earlier "young boy discovers that he's more than he was led to believe" stories. A classic in the fantasy genre that pulls you into a great read.
saehistoria on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was very excited to read Belgarath's story because I wanted to know all the jokes and punch lines that created the undercurrents and relationships between the characters in the Belgariad and Malloreon who had been involved in the universe's great design from the beginning. His relationship with Pol made a lot more sense and it was hilarious to read about Belgarath's early experiences with 'gentle' Beldin."Belgarath the Sorcerer" is lengthy and can be confusing, but if the reader is patient and keeps in mind that Eddings is telling the story through the mind of Belgarath, who thinks of time and the world from a whole different angle than mere mortals, the book is a true winner.Even if the book becomes nothing more than a confusing mass of pages, it is worth reading to get a feel for the immensity of the world that Eddings and his wife constructed.
nieva21 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I am wondering if this book should have stopped in the four-hundred page cut-off. It just seemed to drag on and didn't go anywhere. It was one sided too (all in the perspective of Belgarath) and more could have been heard and learned from the other critical characters. It took me forever to read. I am disappointed. I am not going to read it's companion.
jimmaclachlan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's a rehash of the Belgariad & Mallorean with a bit extra from Belgarath's point of view. I read it once, just to see if there were any startling revelations. None. Not worth buying or reading unless you are just crazy about this series. I thought the Belgariad was very good & read it several times. The Mallorean was OK & I've read it maybe twice. This book, along with Polgara & the Mrin Codex are only for the fanatics, though.
Karlstar on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
For fans of Eddings' Belgariad and Malloreon, this book offers very little. This is the retelling of those two series from Belgarath's point of view, with a little of his history fleshed out. Since most of Belgarath's past was covered in at least a little detail in those series, there's very little new here. The story doesn't change and we know the ending. Belgarath is a great character, but this book started the very unfortunate trend of Eddings' retelling a story we've read before from a slightly different perspective. Really not worth it unless you're a big, big Belgarath fan.
aethercowboy on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Belgarath the Sorcerer was my first, and at the time of my writing this, only experience of the writing of the Eddings'. If you've read my other reviews, you'd know that I am one of those people who hold the writings of Tolkien to be sacrosanct, and any imitation of his work, flattering as it may be, is about as genuine as a Rolex purchased in central park.Eddings is one of those authors I like to refer to as "tolkienoid," a term I believe was coined by Moorcock. Tolkienoid is to Tolkien as humanoid is to human. That is: Similar, though not necessarily exact, to Tolkien.After reading BtS, I must agree that this is most definitely the case. We have a wise old man, who could clearly fall under the Gandalf category, who helps the armies of man prevent some fallen god, who could represent Sauron, from using a stone of power, which could represent the One Ring, to destroy mankind. Essentially.If you've read the Belgariad, a sort of diluted simulacrum of the Legendarium, you'll already know the plot of BtS, well, most of it, I'm speculating. It's just a several-thousand year span of time as narrated by the guy who was there to see it.Sure, it has its interesting parts, but I must say that I am quick to judgment when I read stuff that's too close to Tolkien, and I'm too busy thinking, "is that the best you could do?" instead of enjoying the prose like I would imagine most people would. I guess the appeal is that it's like Tolkien, only easier to read.You may enjoy this book if you like tolkienoid authors like Brooks, or other fantasy authors that use tried and true fantasy motifs. No guarantees if you like Donaldson. And the warranty on this one is voided if you've even mentioned liking Tolkien.
inserttitlehere on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
ok, i'll admit that I read this book first (ordered a lot of books off of ebay, this happened to be one of them), before the belgariad and malloreon. Which was shame on me, since I don't understand how I didn't get frustrated during the very first bit when they were obviously referring to the events that happened in the series.So... first off, read the series first. It'll help.Second, this is a wonderful novel. Beautifully written and kept me riveted. I read it three times over before I had to give in and order the rest of the series. It's a great prequel to the aforementioned series and a must read for any fantasy fans. The characters are beautifully depicted and you feel connected to all of them quite easily.It's just an amazing book and series (that i'm actually planning on rereading this summer) that you just need to go out and buy it and read it, and if you already own it and haven't read it, i don't know what you are waiting for, just pick up the thing and start. You won't regret it. I promise. And if you do, well, I don't care, I've gotten you to read it :P.Enjoy this read!
readafew on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
If you like Eddings make sure you read the Belgariad and Mallorean series first. I enjoyed all these books and Belgarath filled in many questions I had, however it would be a great big spoiler if read first. They are fun happy-ever-after stories along the lines of "The Princess Bride"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful tale. Fans of David Eddings will enjoy this book. Keeps the fresh style first presented in the Belgariad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Glad finally as eBook. Hopefully the belgariad and mallorean will follow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this after I read the Belgarion, the Mallorean series and Polgara and still learned something about the story! Extremely well written. To prove to you how good these books are, I had to order Begarath because it wasn't in the store and found the last copy of Polgara. My son loaned me the two series. I wanted to order these for my Nook, but alas, my son didn't have one (he does now) so that I could go back and read them again and again. The writing is so good that it has spoiled some of the other fantasy series I have read! You will not regret reading these books. This book, as did the others, had me hooked and I couldn't stop reading it until I was finished! If you love fantasy - you'll love this!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago