Being Time: Case Studies in Musical Temporality

Being Time: Case Studies in Musical Temporality

NOOK Book(eBook)

$25.49 $26.95 Save 5% Current price is $25.49, Original price is $26.95. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Being Time invites a deep consideration of the personal experience of temporality in music, focusing on the perceptual role of the listener. Through individual case studies, this book centers on musical works that deal with time in radical ways. These include pieces by Morton Feldman, James Saunders, Chiyoko Szlavnics, Ryoji Ikeda, Toshiya Tsunoda, Laurie Spiegel and André O. Möller. Multiple perspectives are explored through a series of encounters, initially between an individual and a work, and subsequently with each author's varying experiences of temporality. The authors compare their responses to features such as repetition, speed, duration and scale from a perceptual standpoint, drawing in reflections on aspects such as musical memory and anticipation. The observations made in this book are accessible and relevant to readers who are interested in exploring issues of temporality from a broad range of disciplinary perspectives.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781628927016
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Publication date: 12/27/2018
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 200
File size: 739 KB

About the Author

Richard Glover is a composer and Reader in Music at the University of Wolverhampton, UK.

Jennie Gottschalk is a composer and the author of Experimental Music Since 1970.

Bryn Harrison is a composer and Reader in Composition at the University of Huddersfield, UK.
Richard Glover is a Reader in Music at the University of Wolverhampton, UK, and divides his time between composing, and writing and presenting on the perception, construction and notation of experimental musics. He has received many international performances of his music, and has recently published book chapters on Phill Niblock and technology in minimalism.
Bryn Harrison is a Senior Lecturer and Head of Composition at the University of Huddersfield. He has an international reputation as a composer and has received commissions, performances and broadcasts by many leading ensembles including the LSO, London Sinfonietta, ensemble recherche, Klangforum Wien and ELISION. 
Jennie Gottschalk (born 1978 in Stanford, CA) is a composer based in Boston. She holds a bachelor's degree in composition from The Boston Conservatory (2001), and a master's degree and doctorate from Northwestern University (2008). Teachers have included Larry Bell, Yakov Gubanov, Jay Alan Yim, Augusta Read Thomas, and Aaron Cassidy. Recent performances in Los Angeles (Dog Star Orchestra) and Chicago (Northwestern University Symphony Orchestra and Contemporary Music Ensemble). Her dissertation and current work explore connections between American pragmatist thought and experimental music. Current projects include a string quartet, a children's book, an experimental music blog (, and a residency at the Conway School of Landscape Design. For additional resources related to this book, please visit the author's website at

Table of Contents

Richard Glover, Jennie Gottschalk, and Bryn Harrison
Chapter One: Foreshadowing and Recollection: Listening Through Morton Feldman's Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello
Bryn Harrison
Postlude to Chapter One
Richard Glover
Chapter Two: Musical brevity in James Saunders' Compatibility hides itself and 511 possible mosaics
Bryn Harrison
Postlude to Chapter Two
Jennie Gottschalk
Chapter Three: Separation and Continuity in Chiyoko Szlavnics' Gradients of Detail
Richard Glover
Postlude to Chapter Three
Jennie Gottschalk
Chapter Four: Filtering Temporality in Ryoji Ikeda's +/-
Richard Glover
Postlude to Chapter Four
Bryn Harrison
Chapter Five: Granulated Time: Toshiya Tsunoda's O Kokos Tis Anixis
Jennie Gottschalk
Postlude to Chapter Five
Bryn Harrison
Chapter Six: Monoliths: Laurie Spiegel's The Expanding Universe and André O. Möller's musik für orgel und eine(n) tonsetzer(in)
Jennie Gottschalk
Postlude to Chapter Six
Richard Glover
Chapter Seven: Observations on Musical Behaviors and Temporality
Richard Glover, Jennie Gottschalk, and Bryn Harrison
Appendix: Suggested Further Reading and Listening

Customer Reviews