Get a $10 Gift Card When You Buy $100 or More in B&N Gift Cards
Being There [Deluxe Edition] [4 LP]

Being There [Deluxe Edition] [4 LP]

by Wilco Wilco
Being There [Deluxe Edition] [4 LP]

Being There [Deluxe Edition] [4 LP]

by Wilco Wilco

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, December 2


While Wilco's debut, A.M., spread its wings in an expectedly country-rock fashion, their sophomore effort, Being There, is the group's great leap forward, a masterful, wildly eclectic collection shot through with ambitions and ideas. Although a few songs remain rooted in their signature sound, here Jeff Tweedy and band are as fascinated by their music's possibilities as its origins, and they push the songs which make up this sprawling two-disc set down consistently surprising paths and byways. For starters, the opening "Misunderstood" is majestic psychedelia, built on studio trickery and string flourishes, while "I Got You (At the End of the Century)" is virtual power pop, right down to the handclaps. The lovely "Someone Else's Song" borrows heavily from the Beatles' "Norwegian Wood," while the R&B-influenced boogie of "Monday" wouldn't sound at all out of place on Exile on Main Street; and on and on. The remarkable thing is how fresh all of these seeming clichés sound when reimagined with so much love and conviction; even the most traditional songs take unexpected twists and turns, never once sinking into mere imitation. "Music is my savior/I was named by rock & roll/I was maimed by rock & roll/I was tamed by rock & roll/I got my name from rock & roll," Tweedy sings on "Sunken Treasure," the opener of the second disc, and throughout the course of these 19 songs he explores rock as though he were tracing his family genealogy, fervently seeking to discover not only where he came from but also where he's going. With Being There, he finds what he's been looking for. [In 2017, Being There was reissued in a four-LP remastered Deluxe Edition featuring 15 previously unreleased bonus tracks.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 12/01/2017
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227932893
catalogNumber: 563215
Rank: 21064


Disc 1

  1. Misunderstood
  2. Far, Far Away
  3. Monday
  4. Outtasite (Outta Mind)
  5. Forget the Flowers
  6. Red-Eyed and Blue
  7. I Got You (At the End of the Century)
  8. What's teh World Got in Store
  9. Hotel Arizona
  10. Say You Miss Me

Disc 2

  1. Sunken Treasure
  2. Someday Soon
  3. Outta Mind (Outta Sight)
  4. Someone Else's Song
  5. Kingpin
  6. (Was I) In Your Dreams
  7. Why Would You Wanna Live
  8. The Lonely 1
  9. Dreamer in My Dreams

Disc 3

  1. Late Blooming Son
  2. I Got You
  3. Out of Sight, Out of Mind
  4. Far Far Away
  5. Dynamite My Soul
  6. Losing Interest
  7. Why Would You Wanna Live
  8. Sun's a Star
  9. Capitol City
  10. Better When I'm Gone
  11. Dreamer in My Dreams

Disc 4

  1. Say You Miss Me
  2. I Got You
  3. Monday
  4. I Can't Keep From Talking
  5. Sunken Treasure
  6. Red-Eyed and Blue
  7. Far, Far Away
  8. Will You Love Me Tomorrow

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Wilco   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews