Before They Were Giants: First Works from Science Fiction Greats

Before They Were Giants: First Works from Science Fiction Greats


$12.17 $15.99 Save 24% Current price is $12.17, Original price is $15.99. You Save 24%.


  • See how it all began! In Before They Were Giants, editor James L.
    Sutter collects the first published stories of 15 of science fiction and fantasy's most important authors, including winners of the prestigious Hugo and
    Nebula awards, New York Times bestsellers, and members of the Science
    Fiction Hall of Fame. Along with these often rare or never-before-anthologized stories, all 15 authors provide brand-new retrospective critiques and interviews discussing the stories' geneses, how publication affected their lives, and what they know now about writing that they wish they'd known then.
  • Contributors include Ben Bova, Charles Stross, China Miéville, Cory
    Doctorow, David Brin, Greg Bear, Joe Haldeman, Kim Stanley Robinson, Larry
    Niven, Michael Swanwick, Nicola Griffith, Piers Anthony, R. A. Salvatore, Spider
    Robinson, and William Gibson.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781601252661
Publisher: Paizo Inc.
Publication date: 08/24/2010
Series: Planet Stories (Paizo Publishing) , #28
Pages: 400
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 16 Years

About the Author

Author Piers Anthony (born Piers Anthony Dillingham Jacob) is an English-American author of science fiction and fantasy books. He is best known for his long-running novel series set in the fictional realm of Xanth. In addition to the 40 books in the Xanth series (with two more forthcoming), he has written numerous other science fiction and fantasy series, such as Incarnations of Immortality, and dozens of standalone novels.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Before They Were Giants: First Works from Science Fiction Greats 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
PghDragonMan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Before They Were Giants, is an anthology of works from some of today¿s contemporary masters of Science Fiction, but these were all works that were either break-out short stories or obscure early works. Some of the authors were well known to me before reading this volume (William Gibson, China Mieville and Kim Stanley Robinson, for example) and others, I think, will become new favorites of mine (Nicola Griffith, for one). Sadly, I felt some offerings detracted from the rest of the stories: they just did not measure up.One notable story that I had almost forgotten about was from the mind of Spider Robinson and marks the birth of Callahan¿s Place and Callahan¿s Cross Time Saloon, that legendary place that you will find, if you really need to find it. If you¿ve never read any of the Callahan stories, you owe it to yourself to read The Guy with the Eyes. It does not get much more original than that.Anthologies are always hard to rate. For every great beginning story, there are others that deserve to be forgotten and disassociated from their author¿s pantheon. For this reason, I¿m going just above middle of the road and calling this only three and a half stars. Make no mistake, though, those great stories make up for the bad and if I can find one potential new author to read in an anthology, the read is certainly worthwhile.