Bebop Enters Sweden 1947-1949

Bebop Enters Sweden 1947-1949

by Dizzy GillespieDizzy Gillespie

CD(Spanish Import)

$16.41 $16.99 Save 3% Current price is $16.41, Original price is $16.99. You Save 3%.


A rather fascinating LP, Bebop Enters Sweden features radio broadcasts from Sweden by three American bop groups. Chubby Jackson & His Fifth Dimensional Jazz Group, an all-star sextet of Woody Herman alumni, performs three numbers and tenor saxophonist James Moody is heard sitting in with trumpeter Gosta Torner's Jam Session Band for three other songs, but the bulk of this set is taken up by Dizzy Gillespie's orchestra. From early 1948, that classic band provides fresh variations on such songs as "Our Delight," "Manteca" and "Ray's Idea."

Product Details

Release Date: 01/05/2010
Label: Imports
UPC: 7391953003181
catalogNumber: 928405


  1. Intro and Crown Pilots
  2. Begin the Beguine
  3. Shishka (Tiny Blues)
  4. Crown Pilots
  5. Lemon Drop
  6. Begin the Beguine
  7. Crying Sands
  8. Boomsie
  9. Dee Dee's Dance
  10. I Waited for You (Theme)
  11. Our Delight
  12. I Can't Get Started
  13. OOl-Ya-Koo
  14. Mam'selle
  15. Manteca
  16. More Than You Know
  17. Oop-Pop-A-Da
  18. Ray's Idea
  19. I Waited for You (Theme)
  20. (Back Home Again In) Indiana
  21. Anthropology
  22. Tea for Two

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dizzy Gillespie   Primary Artist,Trumpet,Vocals
Benny Bailey   Trumpet
Conte Candoli   Trumpet
Terry Gibbs   Vibes
John Lewis   Piano
Cecil Payne   Baritone Saxophone
Dave Burns   Trumpet
Arne Domnérus   Alto Saxophone
Chubby Jackson   Bass
Lou Levy   Piano
Gosta Theselius   Piano
Chano Pozo   Conga
McKibbon   Bass
Denzil Best   Drums
Kenny Clarke   Drums
Joe Gayles   Tenor Saxophone
Kenny "Pancho" Hagood   Vocals
Arnold Johansson   Trumpet
Ted Kelly   Trombone
George Nicholas   Tenor Saxophone
Jack Noren   Drums
William Shepherd   Trombone
Frank Socolow   Tenor Saxophone
Elmon Wright   Trumpet
Lammar Wright   Trumpet
Gösta Törner   Trumpet
Leppe Sundevall   Bass
Howard E. Johnson   Alto Saxophone
John Brown   Alto Saxophone
Sven Bollhem   Drums

Technical Credits

Gil Fuller   Composer
Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Babs Gonzales   Composer
James Moody   Contributor
Arne Domnérus   Contributor
Vincent Youmans   Composer
Chano Pozo   Composer
Ray Brown   Composer
Irving Caesar   Composer
Ballard MacDonald   Composer
Jack Noren   Contributor
Lars Westin   Producer,Liner Notes
James Hanley   Composer

Customer Reviews