ISBN-10:
0593530292
ISBN-13:
9780593530290
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
Beasts of Prey (Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

Beasts of Prey (Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

by Ayana Gray

Hardcover(Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

$15.99 $18.99 Save 16% Current price is $15.99, Original price is $18.99. You Save 16%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, October 20

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Chock full of atmospheric world-building and nonstop adventure, Beasts of Prey is a breakout debut fantasy about two teenagers — one indentured servant and the other a fallen warrior — who come together to hunt the Shetani, a vicious monster that has been menacing their city. This first book in an immersive new series is perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone, The Gilded Ones, and An Ember in the Ashes.

This Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition includes a behind-the-scenes annotated chapter and two full-color character illustrations.

In this much-anticipated series opener, fate binds two Black teenagers together as they strike a dangerous alliance to hunt down the creature menacing their home—and uncover ancient deadly secrets.

There’s no such thing as magic in the broken city of Lkossa, especially for sixteen-year-old Koffi, who holds a power within her that could only be described as magic—a power that if discovered could cost her life. Indentured to the notorious Night Zoo, Koffi knows the fearsome creatures in her care and paying off her family's debts to secure their eventual freedom can be her only focus. But the night those she loves are gravely threatened by the Zoo’s cruel master, Koffi finally unleashes the power she doesn’t fully understand, upending her life completely.

As the second son of a decorated hero, Ekon is all but destined to become a Son of the Six—an elite warrior—and uphold a family legacy. But on the night of his final rite of passage, Ekon encounters not only the Shetani—a vicious monster that has plagued the city for nearly a century and stalks his nightmares, but Koffi who seems to have the power to ward off the beast. Koffi’s power ultimately saves Ekon’s life, but his choice to let her flee dooms his hopes of becoming a warrior.

Desperate to redeem himself, Ekon vows to hunt the Shetani and end its reign of terror, but he can’t do it alone. Meanwhile, Koffi believes finding the Shetani could also be the key to solving her own problems. Koffi and Ekon form a tentative alliance and together enter the Greater Jungle, a world steeped in wild, frightening magic and untold dangers. The hunt begins. But it quickly becomes unclear whether they are the hunters or the hunted.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780593530290
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 09/28/2021
Edition description: Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition
Pages: 496
Sales rank: 710
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.80(d)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Ayana Gray is an author of speculative works and lover of all things monsters, mythos, and #MelaninMagic. Originally from Atlanta, she now lives in sunny Florida, where she reads avidly, follows Formula One racing, and worries over her adopted baby black rhino, Apollo. Beasts of Prey is her debut novel.

Customer Reviews