by Tom WaitsTom Waits


$14.73 $15.99 Save 8% Current price is $14.73, Original price is $15.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In 2017, Tom Waits announced remastered reissues of his entire Warner Bros. catalog, as well as several recordings on Anti. Among the latter are the three individually titled offerings packaged in a 2006 box entitled Orphans. When originally issued, the whopping 56-track collection proved the most unwieldy of his career. There were 30 new tunes -- a mere 14 could be found on other records -- while the rest were new and uncollected. Even the previously issued titles were newly recorded so the set would have a sonic cohesion despite its musical elasticity. The second volume, is the 20-track Bawlers, an appropriately titled set of ballads, raw love songs, weepy wine tunes, and even a murder ballad. Waits brought in a stellar cast to assist him, including Brett Gurewitz, Leroy Vinnegar, Carla Kihlstedt, Billy Higgins, and Teddy Edwards. There are tunes that appeared in movies and TV shows including Pollock, Big Bad Love, and Shrek 2. A cover of "Goodnight Irene" recalls "Tom Traubert's Blues (Four Sheets to the Wind in Copenhagen)" from 1976's Small Change, even though the protagonist is older and more desperate. The cover of the Ramones' "Danny Says" is completely reinvented; it's one of the loneliest, most sweetly desolate of Waits' many sides. It's not all darkness, however -- there are gorgeous songs here too, such as "Never Let Go" and "You Can Never Hold Back Spring," where the indomitable human spirit rings true; both songs might have been sung in a parlor room or on a front porch in the early to mid-20th century on a Sunday afternoon. "Widow's Grove" is a story of romantic homicide, while "Little Drop of Poison" is a tango from the dark night of the soul. "Little Man" was written by Edwards and originally appeared on the saxophonist's 1991 album Mississippi Lad; it was one of two sung by Waits. This version is smoky, simmering, and languid, an admonition to transcend difficult circumstances with Ralph Carney delivering his best Ben Webster. It is also a tribute to his old friend, who passed three years before Orphans was released. "Take Care of All of My Children" is a nearly drunken-sounding gospel ballad that sounds as if Waits were backed by a ragtag skid row mission band. Carolyn Leigh's and Johnny Richards' standard "Young at Heart" closes the record with Bobby Black's exotic pedal steel meeting Waits' vocal in a haunted waltz. Bawlers showcases his voice -- its roughshod croons and midnight whispers are nuanced, embodying the entire lineage of blues, jazz, show tunes, and cabaret. There is adventure, danger, and the sound of what has been forgotten from what was desired within it. "Bawlers" is the most accessible disc from Orphans, and more than the other two volumes stands alone as an impeccably curated Waits offering.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/22/2018
Label: Epitaph
UPC: 0045778754922
catalogNumber: 875492
Rank: 51777

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tom Waits   Primary Artist
Charlie Musselwhite   Harmonica
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Billy Higgins   Drums
Ralph Carney   Saxophone
Larry Taylor   Bass
Ray Armando   Percussion
Bobby Black   Steel Guitar
Brett Gurewitz   Guitar
Bent Clausen   Banjo
Harry Cody   Banjo
Greg Cohen   Bass
Joe Gore   Guitar
Art Hillery   Piano
Trevor Horn   Bass
Nick Phelps   Horn
Gino Robair   Percussion
Francis Thumm   Piano
Leroy Vinnegar   Bass
Carla Kihlstedt   Violin
Tom Yoder   Trombone
Adam Lane   Bass
Dan Plonsey   Clarinet
Andrew Borger   Percussion
Chris Grady   Trumpet
Mike Silverman   Bass
Eric Perney   Bass
Dan Cantrell   Accordion
Stephen Prutsman   Piano
Bebe Risenfors   Clarinet
Matthew Sperry   Bass
Seth Ford Young   Bass
Sullivan Waits   Guitar
Matt Brubeck   Bass
Nolan Smith   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Tom Waits   Composer
Johnny Richards   Composer
Alan Lomax   Composer
Mark Howard   Engineer
Tchad Blake   Engineer
Kathleen Brennan   Composer
Brett Gurewitz   Engineer
Biff Dawes   Engineer
Karl Derfler   Engineer,Remixing
Oz Fritz   Engineer
Mitchell Froom   Engineer
Huddie Ledbetter   Composer
Joey Ramone   Composer
Dee Dee Ramone   Composer
Johnny Ramone   Composer
Matt Mahurin   Photo Enhancement
Bob Musso   Engineer
Carolyn Leigh   Composer
Jacquire King   Engineer
Gene Cornelius   Engineer
Johnny Brewton   Art Direction
Julianne Deery   Cover Photo
Bernd Bergdorg   Engineer
Teddy Edwards   Composer
Danny Duperreault   Engineer

Customer Reviews