Bala Brothers

Bala Brothers

by Bala BrothersBala Brothers


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Brothers Zwai Bala, Loyiso Bala, and Phelo Bala have risen to stardom in their native South Africa as one of the nation's most unlikely success stories. Zwai Bala and his siblings were born into poverty and as second-class citizens during South Africa's apartheid regime, but Zwai's remarkable talent as a singer helped him strike a blow for equality, as he became the first black vocalist in the celebrated Drakensburg Boys Choir at the age of 12. Zwai and his equally talented brothers Loyiso and Phelo would later join together as the Bala Brothers, and their impressive talent and remarkable stylistic range, running the gamut from classical vocal music and South African Kwaito to pop, rhythm & blues, and gospel, made them one of the nation's most popular and respected acts. The Bala Brothers introduce themselves to America with this self-titled album, the soundtrack to a live television special produced for PBS, in which the trio, accompanied by an orchestra and the current lineup of the Drakensburg Boys Choir, perform for an enthusiastic audience at the Lyric Theatre in Johannesburg. Selections include "Circle of Life," "Under African Skies," "Pata Pata," "Something Inside So Strong," "Going Home," and eight others.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/03/2015
Label: Warner Classics
UPC: 0825646156955
catalogNumber: 615695
Rank: 144273

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bala Brothers   Primary Artist
Peter Griffiths   French Horn
Michael Whalen   Organ,Synthesizer,Keyboards
Bob Magnuson   Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Zwai Bala   Piano
Loyiso Bala   Piano
Kutlwano Masote   Conductor
Jonathan Crossley   Guitar
Allan Thompson   Clarinet
Johann van der Sandt   Choir Director
Olga Korvink   Violin
Phil Cox   Trumpet
Nico Kruger   Double Bass
Rob Watson   Drums
Camron Andrews   Saxophone
Bernard Madumo   Violin
Benjamin Jephta   Bass Guitar
Andrea Erasmu   Viola
Alexander Hitzeroth   Trombone
Alastair Scobbie   Choir, Chorus
Aiden Nordin   Choir, Chorus
Viren Sookdaw   Choir, Chorus
Tiisetso Mashishi   Viola
Thomas Diyani   Percussion
Themba Xundu   Choir, Chorus
Thandolwethu Skwatsha   Choir, Chorus
Thando Myeza   Choir, Chorus
Tapiwanashe Chagonda   Choir, Chorus
Simiso Radebe   Violin
Shannon Armer   French Horn
Sebastian De Klerk   Choir, Chorus
Ruan Linde   Choir, Chorus
Polina Burdokova   Cello
Olga Maraba   Violin
Njabulo Mabaso   Choir, Chorus
Ndumiso Nhlapo   Choir, Chorus
Nathanielm Stoffels   Choir, Chorus
Mpho Toolo   Choir, Chorus
Melate Mantu   Violin
Mdu Mtshali   Piano
James Harrison   Choir, Chorus
Lengana Mashapo   Choir, Chorus
Katlego Mboroma   Choir, Chorus
Kabelo Motlhomi   Violin
Jonathan Jenkings   Choir, Chorus
Jared Hanekom   Choir, Chorus
Janthe van der Sandt   Choir, Chorus
Ilke Alexander   Flute
Donald Bouwer   Trumpet
Don Nhlengethwa   Choir, Chorus
Daryl Kwaramba   Choir, Chorus
Daliwonga Tshangela   Cello

Technical Credits

Johnny Clegg   Composer
Miriam Makeba   Composer
Billy Joel   Composer
Elton John   Composer
Paul Simon   Composer
Labi Siffre   Composer
Mark Mancina   Composer
Lebohang Morake   Composer
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer
Jay Rifkin   Composer
Michael Whalen   Arranger,Producer,Percussion Programming
Tim Rice   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Zwai Bala   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Choir Arrangement
Daniel Hart   Executive Producer
Loyiso Bala   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Choir Arrangement
Frank Lindquist   Arranger,Orchestration
Mavo Solomon   Composer
Gordon H. Jee   Art Direction
Carlos Fonseca   Engineer
Dan Heymann   Composer
Zara Gaffney   Live Sound Engineer
Nkwane Matlala   Monitor Engineer
Jean-Phillippe Rolland   Executive Producer
Graham Brune   Stage Manager
Gerhard Van Der Merwe   Engineer

Customer Reviews