Back to Basics

Back to Basics

by MazeMaze




When other 1970s R&B veterans were heavily incorporating elements of hip-hop and new jack swing in the hope of remaining competitive, Maze featuring Frankie Beverly flat out refused to change. Their roots were Philly soul and Marvin Gaye, and they weren't about to pretend otherwise. The stick-to-your-guns approach had made Silky Soul both a commercial and artistic triumph, and it's also a major asset on Back to Basics. Though not quite as strong as Silky Soul, Basics is a respectable, engaging CD that longtime Maze fans should savor. Beverly's producing had grown more high-tech over the years, but his approach to singing and writing hadn't changed much since the '70s. Smooth yet gritty, offerings like "The Morning After," "What Goes Up," and "Nobody Knows What You Feel Inside" are state-of-the-art Maze. And to his credit, Beverly knows how to use technology in a warm, soulful fashion.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/08/2009
Label: Rhino Flashback
UPC: 0081227981969
catalogNumber: 45297

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Maze   Primary Artist
Frankie Beverly   Synthesizer,Percussion,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Soloist,Group Member
William Bryant   Keyboards,Soloist,Group Member
Robin Duhe   Bass Guitar,Group Member
Sonny Emory   Cymbals,Drums
Larry Kimpel   Bass Guitar
McKinley Williams   Background Vocals,Group Member
Billy Johnson   Drums
Roame Lowry   Group Member
Anthony Beverly   Cymbals
Mike White   Drums
Roame   Background Vocals
Ron Smith   Guitar,Group Member
Billy "Shoes" Johnson   Group Member
Wayne "Ziggy" Lindsay   Keyboards
Yvette Sherman   Background Vocals
Roame Lowrey   Conga
Phillip Woo   Keyboards,Soloist,Group Member

Technical Credits

Frankie Beverly   Producer,Engineer,drum programming,Percussion Programming
David Luke   Engineer
Benny Medina   Executive Producer
Mary Ann Dibs   Art Direction
Bill Thompson   MIDI

Customer Reviews