Baby Jump: The Definitive Collection

Baby Jump: The Definitive Collection

by Mungo JerryMungo Jerry


$19.14 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.14, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Hmmm, "definitive," you say? Well, let's see. The need for a truly all-encompassing Mungo Jerry collection has been evident ever since the early '90s brought the first in the long line of CD compilations that simply followed the same laws as the LPs that preceded them -- here are the hits, here's the odd B-side, here are a couple of randomly selected album tracks. Mungo Jerry meant so much more than that, even if that brief does sum up most listeners' total knowledge of the band's output. With 60 tracks at its disposal, Baby Jump certainly comes close to the ideal. Concentrating on their years with the Dawn subsidiary of Pye Records, it travels from the debut chart-topper "In the Summertime" through the surprisingly peerless run of hits that were spread over the next four years, before winding up with the final gasp of glory that was "Wild Love," an insanely contagious number that really should have been a bigger hit than it was. In between times, each of the band's studio albums is cherry-picked for highlights, with the group's practice of unleashing non-LP B-sides flavored by the inclusion of numbers that are almost as well known in their own right as the hits that accompanied them -- the banned-by-the-BBC "Have a Whiff on Me," some genuinely exciting live performances, and more. Of course, it's no substitute for picking up the original albums (and singles), and a full-scale Mungo Jerry reissue campaign remains a promise for which listeners should all be hoping. In the meantime, this anthology certainly allows the collector to finally shed all those repetitive compilations, and offers a much-needed tribute to a band that really was worth a lot more than "In the Summertime."

Product Details

Release Date: 01/04/2005
Label: Sanctuary Uk
UPC: 5050749213426
catalogNumber: 134
Rank: 44660


Disc 1

  1. In the Summertime
  2. Mighty Man
  3. Dust Pneumonia Blues
  4. Baby, Let's Play House
  5. Johnny B Badde
  6. San Francisco Bay Blues
  7. Sad Eyed Joe
  8. Maggie
  9. Peace In the Country
  10. See Me
  11. Movin' On
  12. My Friend
  13. Mother *! *! *! Boogie
  14. Tramp
  15. Daddie's Brew
  16. Baby Jump
  17. The Man Behind the Piano
  18. She Rowed
  19. Somebody Stole My Wife
  20. I Just Wanna Make Love to You

Disc 2

  1. Lady Rose
  2. Memoirs of a Stockbroker
  3. Follow Me Down
  4. You Better Leave That Whisky Alone
  5. Coming Back to You When the Time Comes
  6. Have a Whiff on Me
  7. Milk Cow Blues
  8. Little Louis
  9. You Don't Have to Be in the Army to Fight the War
  10. The Sun Is Shining
  11. O'Reilly
  12. We Shall Be Free
  13. Ella Speed
  14. Take Me Back
  15. Hey Rosalyn
  16. Northcote Arms
  17. There's a Man Going Round Taking Names
  18. Simple Things
  19. Keep Your Hands off Her
  20. On a Sunday
  21. That Old Dust Storm

Disc 3

  1. Open Up
  2. Going Back Home
  3. I Don't Wanna Go Back to School
  4. No Girl Reaction
  5. See You Again
  6. Demon
  7. My Girl and Me
  8. Sweet Mary Jane
  9. Lady Rose
  10. Brand New Car
  11. Summer's Gone
  12. It's a Goodie Boogie Woogie
  13. Say Goodnight
  14. Alright, Alright, Alright
  15. Little Miss Hipshake
  16. Wild Love
  17. Glad I'm a Rocker
  18. Long Legged Woman Dressed in Black
  19. Gonna Bop Till I Drop
  20. Don't Stop
  21. Shake Till I Break
  22. Too Fast to Live and Too Young to Die
  23. Burnin' Up
  24. All Dressed Up and No Place To Go

Album Credits

Customer Reviews