by Okkervil RiverOkkervil River


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


The eighth studio long-player from the Will Sheff-led ensemble, Away serves as both a denouement and a commencement for Okkervil River; a string of old beer tickets and a crisp hundred-dollar bill fished out of a retired jean jacket during a basement purge. Written during a period of personal and professional upheaval that included the death of Sheff's beloved grandfather, Away, despite boasting a talented crew of collaborators, feels more like a solo outing than a fussed-over band project -- Sheff sums it up more elliptically as "It's not really an Okkervil River album and it's also my favorite Okkervil River album." Recorded on Long Island with a seasoned posse of N.Y.C.-based indie rock, jazz, and avant-garde players, the nine-track set is by far his loosest and most lyrical to date -- each song was completed in just one or two takes. Opener "Okkervil River R.I.P." sets a melancholy tone, and with the exception of the bouncy "Judey on a Street," that faded postcard patina extends throughout the remaining eight tracks. The gorgeous, psilocybin-mushrooms-expedited "Call Yourself Renee" and the tone poem-ish and aptly named "Days Spent Floating (In the Halfbetween)," the latter composed via an October spent parsing through each morning's first complete thought, see Sheff pushing outward a bit from the erudite confessionalism of the past, but his long-winded conversational lyrics are still as evocative ever -- the lovely "Comes Indiana Through the Smoke" imagines the battleship that Sheff's grandfather served on in WWII returning to him in his final moments. The paucity of any full-on rockers may drive some listeners back to the group's more propulsive, earlier works, but the sullen, sweet, and soulful Away rewards a patient ear.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/09/2016
Label: Ato Records
UPC: 0880882262020
catalogNumber: 226202
Rank: 164943


  1. Okkervil River R.I.P.
  2. Call Yourself Renee
  3. The Industry
  4. Comes Indiana Through the Smoke
  5. Judey on a Street
  6. She Would Look for Me
  7. Mary on a Wave
  8. Frontman in Heaven
  9. Days Spent Floating

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Okkervil River   Primary Artist
Will Sheff   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Moog Synthesizer
Brian Donohoe   Piano,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer
Marissa Nadler   Vocals
Rob Moose   Violin
José Galeaño   Bongos,Conga,Shaker
Christina Courtin   Viola
Cully Symington   Drums,Tambourine,Shaker
C.J. Camerieri   Trumpet
Jared Samuel   Piano,Mellotron,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer,Hammond B3
Brittany Anjou   Vibes
Gabriel Cabezas   Cello
Hideaki Aomori   Clarinet
Christa Robinson   English Horn,Oboe
Mick Rossi   Piano
Lauryn Gould   Flute
Alec Spiegelman   Saxophone
Noah Garabedian   Upright Bass
Will Graefe   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Jesse Marchant   Vocals
Laura Lutzke   Violin

Technical Credits

Phil Palazzolo   Engineer
Will Sheff   Composer,Producer
Nathan Thatcher   Orchestration
Matt Murphy   Engineer

Customer Reviews