Atlantic Jazz: Vocal Classics

Atlantic Jazz: Vocal Classics


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Released to celebrate Atlantic's 50th anniversary, Atlantic Jazz Vocal Classics is a budget-priced, 14-track collection that culls highlights from the Atlantic vaults. The collection spans from the '40s to the '70s and features cuts by Al Hibbler ("Trav'lin' Light"), Ray Charles ("Don't Let the Sun Catch You Cryin'"), Bobby Darin ("Easy Living"), Betty Carter ("'Round Midnight"), Mel Tormé ("Broadway"), Esther Phillips ("Every Time We Say Goodbye"), Carmen McRae ("Day By Day"), Mose Allison ("Your Molecular Structure"), Aretha Franklin ("Crazy He Calls Me"), Jimmy Scott ("Exodus") and the Manhattan Transfer ("Birdland"). It's a solid sampler that indicates the richness of the label's roster, and for the curious or listeners on a budget, it's an introduction well worth its price.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/03/1998
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227296629
catalogNumber: 72966
Rank: 190669

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hibbler   Track Performer
Ray Charles   Track Performer
Bobby Darin   Track Performer
Aretha Franklin   Track Performer
Mose Allison   Piano,Track Performer
Bob Brookmeyer   Valve Trombone
Betty Carter   Track Performer
Ron Carter   Bass,Cello
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Richie Cole   Alto Saxophone
Chris Connor   Track Performer
Eddie Costa   Vibes
Chuck Flores   Drums
Thad Jones   Trumpet
Manhattan Transfer   Track Performer
McCann   Piano,Track Performer
Red Mitchell   Bass
Sam Most   Flute
Oliver Nelson   Conductor
Joe Newman   Trumpet
Joe Pass   Guitar
Oscar Pettiford   Bass
Esther Phillips   Track Performer
Jerome Richardson   Clarinet,Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Jimmy Rowles   Piano
Little Jimmy Scott   Track Performer
Mel Tormé   Track Performer
Ralph Burns   Conductor
Jackie Paris   Track Performer
Joe Puma   Guitar
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Ralph Sharon   Piano
Grady Tate   Drums
Quentin Jackson   Trombone
Bob Cranshaw   Bass
Wayne Andre   Trombone
Bob Ashton   Clarinet,Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Joe Zawinul   Organ
Danny Bank   Baritone Saxophone
Michael Boddicker   Synthesizer
Larry Bunker   Vibes
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Bruno Carr   Drums
Bill Clark   Drums
Selwart Clarke   Conductor,Viola,Concert Master
Winston Collymore   Violin
Noel DaCosta   Violin
Donald Dean   Drums
Richard Elias   Violin
William S. Fischer   Conductor
Barry Galbraith   Guitar
Eric Gale   Guitar
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Bill Goodwin   Drums
Emanuel Green   Violin
Paul Griffin   Piano
Harry Lookofsky   Concert Master
Howard Roberts   Guitar
Ralph Humphrey   Drums
David Hungate   Bass
Theodore Israel   Violin
J.J. Johnson   Trombone
Osie Johnson   Drums
Warren Laffredo   Violin
Junior Mance   Piano
Joe Mondragon   Bass
Wendell Marshall   Bass
Carmen McRae   Vocals,Track Performer
Kermit Moore   Cello
David "Fathead" Newman   Tenor Saxophone
Michael Omartian   Piano
Gene Orloff   Conductor
Victor Pantoja   Conga
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Bobby Scott   Piano,Conductor
Harvey Shapiro   Cello
Todd Sommer   Drums
Carlos Vidal   Conga
Leroy Vinnegar   Bass
Phil Woods   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
Snooky Young   Trumpet
Ronald Zito   Drums
Billy Butler   Guitar
Allen Hanlon   Guitar
Johnny Williams   Conductor
Eddie Wasserman   Tenor Saxophone
John James   Piano

Technical Credits

Mose Allison   Producer
Oliver Nelson   Arranger
Janis Siegel   Vocal Arrangements
Ralph Burns   Arranger
Herb Abramson   Producer
Hugh Brown   Art Direction
Joel Dorn   Producer
Tom Dowd   Producer
Ahmet Ertegun   Producer
Nesuhi Ertegun   Producer
William S. Fischer   Arranger
Jay Graydon   Producer
Ray Henderson   Composer
Jack Rael   Producer
Warren Laffredo   Contributor
Arif Mardin   Arranger,Producer
Michael Omartian   rhythm arrangement
Bobby Scott   Arranger
Billy Vera   Liner Notes
Jerry Wexler   Producer
Johnny Williams   Arranger
Jack Hooke   Producer

Customer Reviews