Atlantic Jazz: Best of the '60s, Vol. 1

Atlantic Jazz: Best of the '60s, Vol. 1


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Atlantic Jazz: Best of the '60s, Vol. 1 features some of the finest performances from the label's roster of jazz greats, including John Coltrane's "Equinox," Charles Mingus' "Ecclusiastics," and Ornette Coleman's "Una Muy Bonita." Roland Kirk's "Volunteered Slavery," the Modern Jazz Quartet's "Summertime," and Herbie Mann's "Comin' Home, Baby" are among the collection's other highlights, along with tracks by Mose Allison, Hank Crawford, Les McCann, and Eddie Harris. Though the album isn't really a good introduction to any of its individual artists, Atlantic Jazz: Best of the '60s, Vol. 1 does offer a notable look at the mix of hard bop, free jazz, and avant-garde jazz that defined the label in the '60s.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/1994
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227155421
catalogNumber: 71554
Rank: 11252

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ray Barretto   Percussion,Conga
Pepper Adams   Baritone Saxophone
Mose Allison   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Laurindo Almeida   Guitar,Track Performer
Roy Brooks   Drums
Betty Carter   Vocals,Track Performer
Ron Carter   Bass,Cello
Don Cherry   Trumpet
Jodie Christian   Piano
Jimmy Cleveland   Trombone
Hank Crawford   Alto Saxophone,Track Performer
Richard Davis   Bass
Jack DeJohnette   Drums,Bells
Booker Ervin   Tenor Saxophone
Russ Freeman   Piano
Eddie Harris   Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Billy Higgins   Drums
Milt Jackson   Vibes
Keith Jarrett   Piano
Elvin Jones   Drums
Richie Kamuca   Tenor Saxophone
Rahsaan Roland Kirk   Clarinet,Gong,Tenor Saxophone,Stritch,Track Performer,Manzello
Jimmy Knepper   Trombone
John Lewis   Piano
Charles Lloyd   Flute,Maracas,Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Herbie Mann   Flute,Track Performer
Shelly Manne   Drums
Cecil McBee   Bass,Claves
McCann   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Charles Mingus   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Modern Jazz Quartet   Track Performer
Joe Newman   Trumpet
Jimmy Owens   Trumpet
Julian Priester   Trombone
Dannie Richmond   Drums
Cedar Walton   Piano
Doug Watkins   Bass
Julius Watkins   French Horn
Hugh Lawson   Piano
Ray Mantilla   Percussion,Conga
Seldon Powell   Tenor Saxophone
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Ernie Royal   Trumpet
Chuck Wayne   Banjo
Hagood Hardy   Vibes
Rufus Harley   Bagpipes,Track Performer
Sweet Inspirations   Background Vocals
Clarence Wheeler   Tenor Saxophone
Connie Kay   Drums
Percy Heath   Bass
Frederick Waits   Drums
Yusef Lateef   Flute,Oboe,Track Performer
McCoy Tyner   Piano
Ahmed Abdul-Malik   Bass
Billy Abner   Drums
Sanford Allen   Strings
Joe Zawinul   Piano,Electric Piano
Chief Bey   Percussion,Drums
Alfred Brown   Strings,Viola
Monty Budwig   Bass
Roy Burrowes   Trumpet
Ron Burton   Piano
Bruno Carr   Drums
Selwart Clarke   Viola
Stewart Clarke   Viola,Concert Master
Claus Ogerman   Conductor
Omar Clay   Percussion
Ornette Coleman   Alto Saxophone,Track Performer
Oliver Collins   Piano
Rudy Collins   Drums
Winston Collymore   Violin
John Coltrane   Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Sonny Covington   Percussion,Trumpet
Charles Crosby   Drums
Noel DaCosta   Violin
Donald Dean   Drums
Frankie Dunlop   Drums
Richard Elias   Violin
Addison Farmer   Bass
William S. Fischer   Tenor Saxophone
Eric Gale   Guitar
James Glenn   Bass
Bernie Glow   Trumpet
Emanuel Green   Strings,Violin
Dick Griffin   Trombone
Paul Griffin   Piano
Charlie Haden   Bass
Albert "Tootie" Heath   Drums
Jimmy Hopps   Drums
George Hughes   Drums
Paul Ingram   French Horn
Theodore Israel   Violin,Viola
Clifford Jordan   Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Jack Knitzer   Oboe
Warren Laffredo   Violin
Melvin Lastie   Trumpet
Ray Lucas   Drums
Roy McCurdy   Drums
Vernon Martin   Bass
Marty Paich   Conductor,Track Performer
Earl May   Bass
Charles McGhee   Trumpet
Kermit Moore   Strings,Cello
Paul Motian   Drums
David "Fathead" Newman   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Track Performer
Steve Novosel   Bass
Gene Orloff   Strings,Cello
Benny Powell   Trombone
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Drums
Jimmy Reider   Tenor Saxophone
Roland Kirk Spirit Choir   Choir, Chorus
Julius Schachter   Strings
Ben Tucker   Bass
Marcelino Valdez   Percussion
Leroy Vinnegar   Bass
Frank Wess   Alto Saxophone
Joe Wohletz   Percussion
Snooky Young   Trumpet
Jimmy Johnson   Drums
Sonny Burke   Organ
Melvin Jackson   Bass
Warren Smith   Percussion
Steve Davis   Bass

Technical Credits

Bob Dorough   Composer
James Austin   Executive Producer
George Avakian   Producer
Selwart Clarke   Director
Claus Ogerman   Arranger
Joel Dorn   Producer
Nesuhi Ertegun   Producer
William S. Fischer   Arranger,Director
Ira Gitler   Liner Notes
Arif Mardin   Producer
Marty Paich   Arranger
Ben Tucker   Composer
Jerry Wexler   Producer
Geoff Gans   Artwork

Customer Reviews