Assembling Flann O'Brien

Assembling Flann O'Brien

by Maebh Long


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Flann O'Brien - also known as Brian O'Nolan or Myles na gCopaleen - is now widely recognised as one of the foremost of Ireland's modern authors. Assembling Flann O'Brien explores the author's innovative and experimental work by reading him in relation to some of the 20th century's most important theorists, including Derrida, Agamben, Freud, Lacan and Žižek.

Assembling Flann O'Brien offers a detailed study of O'Brien's five major novels – including At Swim-Two-Birds and The Third Policeman – as well as his plays, short stories, jourbanalistic output and unpublished archival material. The book presents new theoretical perspectives on his works, exploring his compelling engagements with questions of the proper name, the archive, law, and desire, and the problems of identity, language, sexuality and censorship which acutely troubled Ireland's new state. Combining a wide range of contemporary theory with a sensitivity to the cultural and political context in which the author wrote, Maebh Long opens up entirely new aspects of Flann O'Brien's writings, and explores the ingenious and the problematic within his oeuvre.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781441190208
Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
Publication date: 02/27/2014
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Maebh Long is Lecturer in Literature at the University of the South Pacific, the Fiji Islands.

Table of Contents



1. Fragments of Palimpsests
2. Driven to Repeat
3. Ireland on Trial
4. A Hard Life for Women
5. Archival Fantasies


Customer Reviews