Asking For It

Asking For It

by Louise O'Neill

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99 View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

'A soul-shattering novel that will leave your emotions raw. This story will haunt me forever. Everyone should read it' Guardian

In a small town where everyone knows everyone, Emma O'Donovan is different. She is the special one - beautiful, popular, powerful. And she works hard to keep it that way.

Until that night . . .

Now, she's an embarrassment. Now, she's just a slut. Now, she is nothing.

And those pictures - those pictures that everyone has seen - mean she can never forget.

For fans of Caitlin Moran, Marian Keyes and Jodi Picoult.

BOOK OF THE YEAR AT THE IRISH BOOK AWARDS 2015. The award-winning, bestselling novel about the life-shattering impact of sexual assault, rape and how victims are treated.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781848668201
Publisher: Quercus Publishing
Publication date: 09/03/2015
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 115,481
File size: 426 KB
Age Range: 14 - 18 Years

About the Author

Louise O'Neill is the feminist powerhouse and outspoken voice for change whose novels Only Ever Yours and Asking for It helped to start important conversations about body image and consent. Asking for It won Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards 2015 and stayed in the Irish Top Ten fiction chart for over a year. Only Ever Yours won Newcomer of the Year at the Irish Book Awards and the Bookseller YA Prize. Film/TV rights have been optioned on both books. Louise lives and works in West Cork, Ireland. She contributes regularly to Irish TV and radio, and has a weekly column in the Irish Examiner.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Asking For It 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was very powerful and compelling. I would highly recommend reading this book!
Abbitha More than 1 year ago
Asking For It Book Review Asking For It by Louis O'neill is about an ego maniac protagonist named Emma O'Donovan. O'neill is known for writing about societies problems in a twisted fiction land. O'neill has also written, Only Ever Yours. Asking For It takes place in a small Irish town, in the eyes of Emma O'Donovan. Emma believes she's the most perfect person and, no one can reach the level of beauty she's at. When something tragic happens her best friends turn their back on her as her world gets completely torn apart. From beginning to end this book is a complete brain buster. This book strongly gets 8 out of 10 stars, Asking For It reviews the sick twisted reality of society. This book is very gruesome but realistic. This book compares to "13 Reasons Why", what happens to Hannah Baker is similar to what happened to Emma. When Hannah got raped it tore her world apart, same for Emma. Overall, this book is a good representation of the sick twisted society of today. No matter what the truth is, people believe what they want to believe.