As Long as I Have You

As Long as I Have You

by Roger DaltreyRoger Daltrey


$16.66 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


As Long as I Have You was a long time coming for Roger Daltrey. Set aside the fact that it's his first solo album since 1992's Rocks in the Head: the album was nearly four years in the making, started after his 2014 Wilko Johnson collaboration, Going Back Home, and not released until June of 2018. During that time, Daltrey battled viral meningitis, a struggle that had him on the verge of ditching the record, but his old Who cohort Pete Townshend heard some rough mixes and encouraged the singer to finish, volunteering his services as a session musician. Townshend's presence may suggest that he contributed original songs, but that's not the case. He's strictly a guitarist, playing rhythm on the soul covers that dominate As Long as I Have You. While the album isn't strictly covers -- Daltrey co-wrote two sentimental tunes, "Certified Rose" and "Always Heading Home" -- the record is built upon older material, songs that allow Daltrey to tie his past to the present. He chooses some songs that date back to the '60s, when he was just starting out as a singer -- Joe Tex's "The Love You Save"; the title track, which was originally cut by Garnet Mimms -- and balances them with his '70s contemporaries (Stephen Stills' "How Far," Boz Scaggs' "I've Got Your Love," Stevie Wonder's "You Haven't Done Nothing") along with Nick Cave's "Into My Arms." Daltrey stumbles upon the latter -- it's too somber and stately for his style -- but the rest of the record finds him in a fleet fashion, alternating between soulful testifying and empathy. Like Going Back Home before it, As Long as I Have You benefits from Daltrey's diminished range, as it adds gravity and grit to his interpretation. This album also benefits from its tight backing band, which is graced with a swinging horn section but distinguished by Townshend playing a secondary, sympathetic role to Daltrey, helping to give this muscular, occasionally moving record an air of grace.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/01/2018
Label: Republic
UPC: 0602567471639
catalogNumber: 002831402
Rank: 157952

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roger Daltrey   Primary Artist
Pete Townshend   Acoustic Guitar,Soloist
Geraint Watkins   Piano
Dave Catlin-Birch   Bass
Andy Cutting   Melodion
Dave Eringa   Percussion,Tubular Bells
Liam Genockey   Drums
Mick Talbot   Piano,Keyboards
Jeremy Stacey   Percussion,Drums
Martin Winning   Saxophone
Roy Agee   Trombone
Ian Burdge   Cello
Matt Holland   Trumpet
Jon Button   Double Bass
Sean Genockey   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Soloist
John Hogg   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals
Barnaby Dickinson   Trombone
Regina McCrary   Background Vocals
Deborah McCrary   Background Vocals
Beverly Ann McCrary   Background Vocals
Alfreda McCrary   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Ivory Joe Hunter   Composer
Nick Cave   Composer
Roger Daltrey   Composer
Boz Scaggs   Composer
Joe Tex   Composer
Ruth Copeland   Composer
Dave Eringa   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Jerry Gillespie   Composer
Gerard McMahon   Composer
K.T. Oslin   Composer
Clyde Otis   Composer
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Clyde Wilson   Composer
Bob Elgin   Composer
Jake Rousham   Engineer
Matt Holland   Brass Arrangment
Andrew Bannister   Artwork
O'Connell   Engineer
Liam Nolan   Engineer
Nigel Hinton   Composer
Steve Vealey   Pro-Tools
Steve Stills   Composer
Fernando Reyes   Pro-Tools

Customer Reviews