Arthur Miller: Collected Plays 1944-1961

Arthur Miller: Collected Plays 1944-1961


$31.50 $35.00 Save 10% Current price is $31.5, Original price is $35. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, November 26


“Miller takes his rightful place in The Library of America with this volume.” —Library Journal (starred review)

In the inaugural volume of its collected edition of Miller’s plays, The Library of America gathers the works from the 1940s and 1950s that electrified theatergoers and established Miller as one of the indispensable voices of the postwar era. Among the plays included are All My Sons, the story of an industrialist confronted with his moral lapses during World War II; Death of a Salesman, the wrenching tragedy of Willy Loman’s demise; The Crucible, at once a riveting reconstruction of the Salem witch trials and a parable of McCarthyism; and A View from the Bridge, Miller’s tale of betrayal among Italian immigrants in Brooklyn, presented here in both the original one-act and revised two-act versions.

This volume also contains the intriguing early drama The Man Who Had All the Luck, the first of Miller’s plays to be produced on Broadway, along with his adaptation of Ibsen’s An Enemy of the People, the autobiographical one-act A Memory of Two Mondays, and Miller’s novella The Misfits, based on the screenplay he wrote for Marilyn Monroe.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781931082914
Publisher: Library of America
Publication date: 02/02/2006
Series: Library of America Series
Pages: 864
Sales rank: 580,386
Product dimensions: 5.12(w) x 8.11(h) x 1.02(d)

About the Author

Arthur Miller was born in New York City in 1915 and studied at the University of Michigan. His plays include All My Sons (1947), Death of a Salesman (1949), The Crucible (1953), A View from the Bridge and A Memory of Two Mondays (1955), After the Fall (1963), Incident at Vichy (1964), The Price (1968), The Creation of the World and Other Business (1972) and The American Clock. He has also written two novels, Focus (1945), and The Misfits, which was filmed in 1960, and the text for In Russia (1969), Chinese Encounters (1979), and In the Country (1977), three books of photographs by his wife, Inge Morath. More recent works include a memoir, Timebends (1987), and the plays The Ride Down Mt. Morgan (1991), The Last Yankee (1993), Broken Glass (1993), which won the Olivier Award for Best Play of the London Season, and Mr. Peter's Connections (1998). His latest book is On Politics and the Art of Acting. Miller was granted with the 2001 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. He has twice won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, and in 1949 he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize.

Table of Contents

The Man Who Had All the Luck (1944)1
All My Sons (1947)85
Death of a Salesman (1949)159
An Enemy of the People (adaptation, 1950)259
The Crucible (1953)343
A Memory of Two Mondays (1955)457
A View from the Bridge (one-act version, 1955)507
A View from the Bridge (two-act version, 1956)569
The Misfits (1961)637
Note on the Texts769

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Arthur Miller: Collected Plays 1944-1961 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
jhale on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was never a fan of Arthur Miller. This book did nothing to change that. His early plays were well written, but of immature subject matter. His later ones were just terrible. Death of a Salesman is the only writing of Miller's that is worth taking the time to read, and even that is flawed by his childish world view.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I will be taking a class on Arthur Miller at Western Michigan University's Life Long Learning. These are classes for us retired folk, who want to keep mentally active. The book has all the plays I need to read. The format is excellent.
Guest More than 1 year ago
a must have for any admirer of millers works. his finest works from the 40's and 50's collected in this one volume. worth the $35.00 price tag.