Arrival [Bonus Tracks]

Arrival [Bonus Tracks]



$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


ABBA's fourth album appeared after the group had arrived as major stars shows the quartet at the absolute top of their game. In addition to "Dancing Queen," which is probably their best-known hit (a number one single on both sides of the Atlantic), the record was filled with brilliant material, including the spirited "When I Kissed the Teacher"; the dramatic, achingly beautiful "Knowing Me, Knowing You" (yet a further hit); the pounding "Money, Money, Money" (still another hit off the album); and the playful "That's Me." Arrival was reissued in October of 2001 in a 24-bit digital transfer, in a handsome gatefold package with two bonus tracks added on. The upgraded sound puts the piano on "Dancing Queen" practically in the room with the listener, and the rhythm guitars by Björn Ulvaeus and Lasse Wellander on "Knowing Me, Knowing You," "When I Kissed the Teacher," and "Dum Dum Diddle" are up very close. The other big beneficiaries are Rutger Gunnarsson's muscular bass playing throughout the album, which never sounded sharper or more effective, and Benny Andersson's keyboards everywhere, which have real presence. Wellander's power chords over the chorus of "Knowing Me, Knowing You" are some of those dramatic musical effects that this group played for maximum effect, which gave their music a raw power that their detractors usually overlooked; in the new edition, it's impossible to ignore. What's more, the sheer impact of the bass drums behind the choruses on "Tiger" will be pretty impressive to any noise freaks. And all of the voices are in very sharp relief; every iota of richness is now on display. So one can now fully appreciate what Frida Lyngstad was hearing when she found the playback of the backing track on "Dancing Queen" beautiful enough to cry over the first time she heard it. The two bonus cuts are both choice additions: the lost B-side, "Happy Hawaii," is a soaring, rocking dance number that got left off the album, and the chronologically related single "Fernando" had been recorded during the making of the LP but not included on it in most of the world. The latter is a profoundly beautiful song that, with its use of flutes and a folk-like melody, is a sort of disco-era follow-up to Simon & Garfunkel's "El Condor Pasa." [A 2001 import version of the CD contains the bonus tracks "Fernando" and "Happy Hawaii."]

Product Details

Release Date: 01/31/2006
Label: Imports
UPC: 0731454995320
catalogNumber: 617929
Rank: 27803

Album Credits

Performance Credits

ABBA   Primary Artist,Vocals
Janne Schaffer   Electric Guitar
Benny Andersson   Synthesizer,Piano,Accordion,Chimes,Keyboards,Marimbas,Vocals,Soloist
Ola Brunkert   Drums
Lars Carlsson   Saxophone
Anders Dahl   Strings
Agnetha Fältskog   Vocals
Malando Gassama   Percussion
Anders Glenmark   Electric Guitar
Rutger Gunnarsson   Bass
Roger Palm   Bass,Drums
Björn Ulvaeus   Synthesizer,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Piano,Accordion,Chimes,Electric Guitar,Marimbas,Vocals,Soloist
Lasse Wellander   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Anni-Frid Lyngstad   Vocals
Janne Lindgren   Steel Guitar

Technical Credits

ABBA   Liner Notes
Peter Gabriel   Composer
Anthony Phillips   Composer
Benny Andersson   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Tony Banks   Composer
Anders Dahl   Arranger,String Arrangements
Agnetha Fältskog   Composer
Rutger Gunnarsson   Arranger,String Arrangements
Mike Rutherford   Composer
Chris Stewart   Composer
Michael B. Tretow   Engineer
Björn Ulvaeus   Arranger,Composer,Producer
John Silver   Composer
Rune Soderqvist   Cover Design
Sven-Olof Walldoff   Arranger,String Arrangements
Stig Anderson   Composer
Anni-Frid Lyngstad   Composer
Ola Lager   Cover Design
Carl Magnus Palm   Liner Notes
Fredrik Hurtig   Art Direction,Redesign

Customer Reviews