by RainbowRainbow


$25.89 $26.99 Save 4% Current price is $25.89, Original price is $26.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Few bands in the history of hard rock/heavy metal shifted stylistic gears as abruptly as Rainbow did. And unlike some veteran acts that attempt this makeover and only draw the wrath of their already-built audience, Rainbow enjoyed further chart success after the switch. Case in point, the 2009 double-disc set, Anthology, in which two contrasting styles -- medieval metal and radio-friendly rock -- are gloriously on display throughout. Immediately after splitting from Deep Purple in early 1975, guitarist Ritchie Blackmore enlisted the help of the then-largely unknown singer Ronnie James Dio, and issued a trio of albums that are basically a 101 course on the aforementioned medieval metal style. In other words, lots of swords-and-sorcery imagery (which would eventually become Dio's trademark), epic compositions, organ/synth vs. guitar battles, etc. And some of metal's all-time great tracks were composed as a result, tops being "Man on the Silver Mountain" (one of the best tracks that either Blackmore or Dio has ever been a part of), as well as "Stargazer" and the Jimi Hendrix-influenced"Catch the Rainbow" (which lyrically, is almost a carbon copy of Hendrix's "Little Wing"). After Dio's exit (to sign on as Ozzy Osbourne's replacement in Black Sabbath), singer Graham Bonnet briefly signed on -- lasting only one album -- and bridging the two aforementioned styles that Rainbow is synonymous with, with another metallic off-shoot metal! For the sonic proof, check out "Since You've Been Gone," while one of this set's biggest errors is including a live version of another Bonnet-era classic, "All Night Long," with his subsequent replacement, Joe Lynn Turner, on vocals (tsk, tsk, tsk). And it was upon Turner's arrival as lead vocalist that Rainbow embarked on their last stylistic speciality -- radio-friendly melodic rock, obviously constructed with the aim of doing battle with such then-chart toppers as Journey and Foreigner, as evidenced by such tracks as "Stone Cold,"" "I Surrender," and "Street of Dreams." All in all, most of the expected Rainbow classics are included on Anthology. However, with the omission of such standouts as "Starstruck" and "Long Live Rock N' Roll," as well as the botch job of including a lame latter-day live version of "All Night Long" rather than the definitive original studio version, Anthology is prevented from being a true all-you-need-in-your-collection type release.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/17/2009
Label: Ume Imports
UPC: 0600753192733
catalogNumber: 5319273
Rank: 90674


Disc 1

  1. Sixteenth Century Greensleeves
  2. The Temple of the King
  3. Man On The Silver Mountain
  4. Still I'm Sad
  5. Tarot Woman
  6. A Light in the Black
  7. Stargazer
  8. Catch The Rainbow
  9. Intro: Over the Rainbow/Kill the King
  10. Gates Of Babylon
  11. Lady Of The Lake
  12. L.A. Connection

Disc 2

  1. Eyes Of The World
  2. Since You Been Gone
  3. Lost In Hollywood
  4. Weiss Heim
  5. Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow
  6. I Surrender
  7. Vielleicht Das Nachster Mal
  8. Jealous Lover
  9. Stone Cold
  10. Death Alley Driver
  11. Eyes Of Fire
  12. Can't Let You Go
  13. Street Of Dreams
  14. Snowman
  15. Stranded
  16. All Night Long

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rainbow   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Carole King   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Russ Ballard   Composer
Ritchie Blackmore   Composer
Roger Glover   Composer
Gerry Goffin   Composer
Don Airey   Composer
Ronnie James Dio   Composer
Jim McCarty   Composer
Cozy Powell   Composer
Bob Rondinelli   Composer
David Rosenthal   Composer
Paul Samwell-Smith   Composer
Joe Lynn Turner   Composer
Howard Blake   Composer
Hugh Gilmour   Art Direction
Fin Costello   Cover Photo
James McCarty   Composer
Jerry Bloom   Sleeve Notes
Donald Smith Airey   Composer

Customer Reviews