Another Self Portrait 1969-1971 [Deluxe Edition]

Another Self Portrait 1969-1971 [Deluxe Edition]

by Bob DylanBob Dylan


$116.02 $119.99 Save 3% Current price is $116.02, Original price is $119.99. You Save 3%. View All Available Formats & Editions


Another Self Portrait, the tenth volume in Bob Dylan's official bootleg series, assembles a slew of unreleased tracks, un- and over-dubbed alternate takes, and demos, mostly from 1970's Self Portrait and New Morning sessions -- they were recorded simultaneously and released within months of each other -- as well as other material. Dylan restlessly dug into the fakebook of folk, blues, and country tunes that nourished him from the beginning. The original songs are largely minor ones. Twenty-six of these 35 selections were recorded between March and June. Dylan is in fine voice and he tries on many: some raspy, others crystal clear, all of them bold. The interconnected nature of these albums is revealed with the opening demo for "Went to See the Gypsy" (used on NM). It's just Dylan and guitarist David Bromberg. (Another take recorded three months later features just Dylan on electric piano.) There are two undubbed takes of "Little Sadie" at different tempos; two of "Time Passes Slowly" -- the first a basic folk-rock read, the latter an aggressive one with Al Kooper's B-3 swelling to a crescendo from the jump. Dylan and Bromberg, with Kooper on piano, deliver a haunted, undubbed "Days of 49." Many of the unreleased tunes are gems. "Little Saro" -- with Dylan in his cleanest Nashville Skyline croon displaying a real range -- and the vocal and piano read of "Spanish Is the Loving Tongue" are deeply moving love songs. "House Carpenter" is a high lonesome blues. The skeletal "Alberta #3" puts the versions from SP to shame. Eric Anderson's "Thirsty Boots" has Bromberg's spidery guitar weaving a separate lyric through Dylan's vocal. A demo of "When I Paint My Masterpiece," from 1971, contains slightly different (better) lyrics. The stripped-down "Copper Kettle" stands out in contrast with its released version. Dylan was impatiently experimenting with arrangements on both records, particularly the latter, and some don't work. "If Not for You" features a violin instead of George Harrison's guitar. The unreleased "Working on a Guru" is almost a throwaway, but Harrison's blues-rock guitar playing smokes. The alternate "New Morning," with a brassy, Stax-style horn arrangement, is great, but the full orchestral overdub on "Sign on a Window" -- complete with harp -- fails, as does the spoken word delivery with female gospel backing chorus on "If Dogs Run Free." Arguably, of the NM material, Dylan made the right choices for the finished album, which doesn't make what's here less interesting. The remainder of these tracks include "Minstrel Boy," an unreleased Basement Tapes take, two tunes from the Isle of Wight with the Band, some alternates from Nashville Skyline, and other tunes from 1971. Another Self Portrait asks many questions, but there is one that hounds because it's unanswerable, especially in regard to its namesake: why did Dylan record all this material, in this way, and then release something entirely different? It doesn't matter. For fans, this is more than a curiosity, it's an indispensable addition to the catalog. [The Deluxe Edition contains two extra discs: the complete 1969 Isle of Wight concert with the Band -- in better audio than any unofficial bootleg version -- a remastered version of Self Portrait, and two hardcover books: one contains the four CDs and the set's liner essays by Greil Marcus and Michael Simmons, and the other the photographs by John Cohen and Al Clayton, all are housed in a slipcover case.]

Product Details

Release Date: 08/27/2013
Label: Sony
UPC: 0888837348829
catalogNumber: 373488

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bob Dylan   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Electric Piano,Vocals
Norman Blake   Guitar,Musician
Doug Kershaw   Musician
Happy Traum   Banjo,Background Vocals
David Bromberg   Dobro,Guitar,Musician
George Harrison   Guitar,Vocals
Kooper   Organ,Piano,Musician
Robbie Robertson   Guitar,Musician
Rick Danko   Bass,Vocals,Musician
Bill Pursell   Musician
Martin Katahn   Musician
Ben Keith   Steel Guitar
Ron Cornelius   Guitar,Musician
Bubba Fowler   Musician
Byron Bach   Musician
Brenton Banks   Musician
Albert Wynn Butler   Musician
Kenny Buttrey   Drums,Musician
Marvin Chantry   Musician
Charlie Daniels   Bass,Guitar,Musician
Delores Edgin   Musician
Solie Fott   Musician
Dennis Good   Musician
Emanuel Green   Musician
Hilda Harris   Background Vocals,Musician
Levon Helm   Drums,Vocals,Musician
Garth Hudson   Organ,Keyboards,Musician
Millie Kirkham   Musician
Russ Kunkel   Drums
Sheldon Kurland   Musician
Richard Manuel   Piano,Vocals,Musician
Martha McCrory   Musician
Barry McDonald   Musician
Carol Montgomery   Musician
Gene A. Mullins   Musician
June Page   Musician
Rex Peer   Musician
Albertine Robinson   Background Vocals,Musician
Gary VanOsdale   Musician
Bob Wilson   Piano,Musician
Stu Woods   Bass,Musician
Charlie McCoy   Bass,Musician
Bob Moore   Musician
Fred Carter   Musician
Kelton Herston   Guitar
Dottie Dillard   Musician
Peter Drake   Steel Guitar,Musician
Karl Kimmel   Musician
Frank Smith   Musician
Maeretha Stewart   Background Vocals,Musician
Oliver Mitchell   Musician
Alvin Rogers   Drums,Musician
George Binckley   Musician
Frederick Hill   Musician
Lilliam Hunt   Musician
Anthony Terron   Musician

Technical Credits

Eric Andersen   Composer
Tom Paxton   Composer
Bob Dylan   Arranger,Composer,Cover Art
Kooper   Producer,Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Eddie Noack   Composer
Charles Calello   Horn Arrangements,String Arrangements
Glyn Johns   Engineer
Bob Johnston   Producer
Don Puluse   Engineer
Jeff Rosen   Producer
Neil Wilburn   Engineer
Greil Marcus   Liner Notes
Geoff Gans   Art Direction
Michael Simmons   Liner Notes
Debbie Sweeney   Producer
Will Schwartz   Producer
Traditional   Composer
Diane Lapson   Producer
Steve Berkowitz   Producer
Callie Gladman   Producer
April Hayes   Producer
Albert F. Beddoe   Composer
Arie De Reus   Memorabilia
Eliot Mazur   Engineer
Ben Rollins   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews