Anodyne [Bonus Tracks]

Anodyne [Bonus Tracks]

by Uncle TupeloUncle Tupelo

CD(Remastered / Bonus Tracks)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Originally released in 1993, Uncle Tupelo's Anodyne was both a beginning and end for these Americana pioneers. As the St. Louis–based band's major-label debut, the album was a consolidation of the roots and rock styles that had informed their music to date, and, seemingly, a blueprint for future energizing fusions of rock, country, and folk -- exemplified early on by the bristling rock guitar assault on "The Long Cut." Of course the album turned out to be Uncle Tupelo's final chapter -- co-leaders Jay Farrar and Jeff Tweedy would go on to form Son Volt and Wilco, respectively -- and now one can only marvel at what was and what might have been. "Chickamauga," a Farrar screed penned from the bottom of a broken heart and titled after the site of one of the Civil War's bloodiest battles, crushes everything in its path with a venomous, multi-guitar attack. The resigned title track views heartbreak from a somber perspective, its wailing guitars offset by the mournful pedal steel lines (courtesy Lloyd Maines) curling over, under, and through the melody. Doug Sahm lends his soulful voice and ebullient spirit to a ramshackle, Stones-ish rendition of his country weeper, "Give Back the Key to My Heart," in what amounts to a breather in the context of all the disillusionment expressed here. Among the five bonus tracks (two of which are live, including a seven-minute-plus workout on Dale Hawkins's evergreen "Suzy Q"), check out the gritty vocal Joe Ely lends to a hard-stomping rendition of Waylon Jennings's "Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way." It's just right, like everything else here.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/11/2003
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227383220
catalogNumber: 73832
Rank: 8960

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Uncle Tupelo   Primary Artist
Joe Ely   Guitar,Vocals
Doug Sahm   Guitar,Vocals
Ken Coomer   Drums
Jay Farrar   Guitar,Mandolin,Vocals
Max Johnston   Banjo,Dobro,Fiddle,Lap Steel Guitar
Lloyd Maines   Pedal Steel Guitar
John Stirratt   Bass,Guitar
Jeff Tweedy   Bass,Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Brian Henneman   Guitar

Technical Credits

Waylon Jennings   Composer
Doug Sahm   Composer
Dale Hawkins   Composer
Jay Farrar   Composer
Terry Fell   Composer
Stan Lewis   Composer
Brian Paulson   Producer,Engineer
Jeff Tweedy   Composer
Tim Powell   Engineer
Richard Byrne   Liner Notes
Josh Grier   Executive Producer
Tim Scanlin   Liner Note Coordination

Customer Reviews