Angus and Sadie

Angus and Sadie

Paperback

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, November 21

Overview

Newbery Medalist Cynthia Voigt presents this charming middle grade novel about two border collie puppies growing up on a farm—a brother and sister who couldn't be more different from each other...or so they think. "Voigt's touch with dogs is as deft as it is with humans," raved The Horn Book.

Angus and Sadie are siblings, but that doesn't mean they're the same. Angus is black-and-white and bigger. He is a good, brave, and clever dog—and he likes that. Sadie, on the other hand, is red-and-white and small. She isn't as quick to learn—or to obey. Angus thinks she's scared of everything, but Sadie knows that's not true. She's just different.

This heartwarming story of two wonderful border collie siblings growing up on a farm in Maine is perfect for young readers who enjoyed Ann M. Martin’s A Dog’s Life and John Grogan’s Marley books, animal lovers of all ages, and anyone who's ever had—or wondered what it would be like to have—a brother or sister just like themselves, but very, very different.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780060745844
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 04/22/2008
Pages: 194
Sales rank: 585,475
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.40(h) x 0.60(d)
Lexile: 760L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Cynthia Voigt is the Newbery Award-winning author of more than twenty books, including Dicey’s Song and A Solitary Blue. This is her first book with HarperCollins.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Angus and Sadie 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read lots of books of different genres, but Angus and Sadie is my favorite book. It's a quick read for kids with large vocabularies. It's humorous. It's more bark than bite because there is more talking than action. In most cases, people would say don't judge a book by its cover, but in this case, the cover sums up the setting and two main characters. You see a big black and white border collie type dog and a small sorrel and white border collie type dog. In the background you see a little red barn and hills and mountains and trees--which is the setting for the farm where they live. What it doesn't show you is the barn cats, the house cat, the two cows, the sheep, the chickens, and their owners, Mister and Missus. The book shows the importance of animal shelters because Angus and Sadie were rescued by an animal shelter and then Mister and Missus adopted them. I've read this book three times because it is my favorite book.
tnelson725 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A farm couple in Maine decide that they need a dog and end up with a brother and sister border collie and shepherd mix from the animal shelter. Though they are siblings, the two are very different. Angus is strong and outgoing and eventually become the leader. Sadie is reserved, smaller, and proves herself when she rescues a stray sheep. The two dogs are very different, but they come to respect and love one another.I thought that this would be a great story for students who love dogs. It has a good moral to it.I would have students think of ways that they may be different from their friends and why being different is important and something to be cherished. I would have students brainstorm ways that their differences make them stronger.
SunnySD on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
When Mister and Missus decide they would like a dog to share their work and daily lives on the farm, and visit the local animal shelter to pick out a puppy, they get more than the bargained for. Litter mates, the newly dubbed Angus and Sadie, border collie mixes, quickly prove that they may be brother and sister, but they aren't carbon copies. Voight has done a good job of capturing the dogs' voices and the differences in their talents and personalities while letting them remain dogs. Leigh's illustrations add just the right touch.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very nice. People who have border collies can relate to this book completely
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BEST book a MUST read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have just read the sample and i want to read more. I love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago