And Still We Sing: The Outspoken Collection

And Still We Sing: The Outspoken Collection

by Holly NearHolly Near


$22.59 $25.99 Save 13% Current price is $22.59, Original price is $25.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 26
5 New & Used Starting at $2.49


Holly Near has made a career out of speaking out, so calling her collection And Still We Sing: The Outspoken Collection seems an apt one. In the tradition of the '60s protest singer, Near has never been shy about wearing her liberal beliefs on her shirt sleeve. Although some of the material dates back to the '70s, most of it has been recorded within the last 20 years or so. The first disc is made up of studio tracks from earlier Near albums, including 2000's Edge, 1989's Sky Dances, and 1981's Fire in the Rain; the second disc consists mostly of live tracks featuring a number of guests like Mercedes Sosa and Ronnie Gilbert. Near's songs and lyrics read like a list of left-leaning political causes from the past 20 years, covering everything from nuclear fallout ("Ain't No Where You Can Run") to war ("Foolish Notion") to workers without work ("I Got Trouble"). Although one can never doubt Near's commitment, the arrangements on many of these songs sound dated and occasionally bombastic. The political causes, likewise, sometimes seem like yesterday's news. Nonetheless, longtime fans, aware of Near's politics and style, will be glad to have all of these tracks gathered on And Still We Sing.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/17/2002
Label: Calico Tracks Music
UPC: 0646506000528
catalogNumber: 5
Rank: 34377

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Holly Near   Primary Artist,Vocals
Michael Manring   Bass
Linda Tillery   Background Vocals
Melissa Etheridge   Guitar
Robben Ford   Electric Guitar
Mary Watkins   Conductor,Vibes
Evie Sands   Acoustic Guitar
Ray Obiedo   Acoustic Guitar
Mercedes Sosa   Vocals
John Bucchino   Piano,Choir, Chorus
Bobbye Hall   Percussion
Oscar Alem   Bass
Osvaldo Avena   Percussion
Carrie Barton   Bass
Joey Blake   Background Vocals
Jennifer Condos   Fretless Bass Guitar
Sheila Escovedo   Percussion
Beth Fitchet   Background Vocals
Ronnie Gilbert   Vocals
Bob Glaub   Bass
Mark Goldenberg   Electric Guitar
Tris Imboden   Drums
Jeff Langley   Piano
Eric Lowen   Guitar
Jan Martinelli   Bass
George Merrill   Keyboards
Rob Moitoza   Bass
Derek Nakamoto   fender rhodes
Sapphron Obois   Horn
John Pierce   Electric Bass
Simeon Pillich   Bass
Stephen Powers   Choir, Chorus
Jackeline Rago   Percussion
Vicki Randle   Background Vocals
Poppi Spatocco   Keyboards
Guy Thomas   Background Vocals
Chris Trujillo   Chinese Drums
Bernice Brooks   Drums
Sarah T. Cline   Horn
Bonnie Johnson   Drums
Susan Laraine   Horn
Michael Hart Thompson   Guitar
Nydia Mata   Bongos
Annette Aguilar   Conga
Cam Davis   Drums
Andrea Weltman   Choir, Chorus
Rita Martinson   Choir, Chorus
Nobuko Miyamoto   Choir, Chorus
Brian Lane Green   Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Steve Wood   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Janelle Burdell   Drums
Andre dos Santos Morgan   Background Vocals
Nicolás "Colacho" Brizuela   Guitar

Technical Credits

Adolphe Adam   Composer
Holly Near   Arranger,Producer
Mary Watkins   Horn Arrangements
Willie Mitchell   Composer
Evie Sands   Producer
John Bucchino   Arranger
Leslie Ann Jones   Producer
Jeff Langley   Producer
Derek Nakamoto   Arranger,Producer,Orchestration
Stephen Powers   Producer
Jim Scott   Producer
Joanie Shoemaker   Producer
Jo-Lynne Worley   Producer
Jill Davey   Graphic Design,Art Direction
Jay Thompson   Liner Notes
Barbara Price   Producer
John Sullivan Dwight   Composer,translation
Brian Lane Green   Arranger
Steve Wood   Producer
Donna Korones   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews