by Les Chauds Lapins Les Chauds Lapins


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, January 21


There's something quite charming about this sophomore album from New York's Les Chaud Lapins (Hot Rabbits). Given the background of the two main members, Meg Reichardt and Kurt Hoffman (the Roulette Sisters, the Ordinaires, They Might Be Giants, etc.), it would be to easy to imagine that everything would be too clever by half. Instead, there's something very appealing about this collection of jazzy, often bizarre French chanson from the 1920s and '30s. The lyrics often veer into the decidedly surreal ("Le Fils de la Femme Poisson"), but that only adds to its appeal (the CD booklet includes translations). The strings and trumpet fill out the basic sounds of a pair of ukuleles. At times the whole thing sounds as if it's escaped from one of Raymond Scott's mad dreams, and at others it sounds like the entertainment at a Left Bank café. Even the Reichardt/Hoffman original, "Cette Nuit-Là," sounds right at home next to the vintage material. There's no concerted attempt to be faithful to the old period. Instead, the focus is on atmosphere and mood, and kudos to Frank London for some wonderful '30s jazz trumpet throughout. It's a unique vision, perhaps, but one guaranteed to bring a smile.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/22/2011
Label: Barbes
UPC: 0881626937020
catalogNumber: 30
Rank: 154658


  1. Nouveau Bonheur
  2. Cette Nuit-Là
  3. Le Fils de la Femme Poisson
  4. Je T’Aime
  5. Presque Oui
  6. Vous Avez L’Éclat De La Rose
  7. Quand J’Étais Petit
  8. C’Est Arrivé
  9. Voulez-Vous Dansez, Madame?
  10. Si Je M’Étais Couché
  11. Ce Petit Chemin
  12. Moi, Je Crache Dans L’Eau
  13. Pluie

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chauds Lapins   Primary Artist
Kurt Hoffman   Clarinet,Vocals,Banjo-ukelele
Frank London   Trumpet
Garo Yellin   Cello
Hiroko Taguchi   Violin
Andy Cotton   Upright Bass
Karen Waltuch   Viola
Whitney LaGrange   Violin,Viola
Meg Reichardt   Banjo,Guitar,Ukulele,Vocals

Technical Credits

Stéphane Grappelli   Composer
Henri Alibert   Composer
Patrick Dillett   Producer,Engineer
Kurt Hoffman   Arranger,Cover Art
Vincent Scotto   Composer
Alec Siniavine   Composer
Mireille   Composer
Chauds Lapins   Producer,English Translations
Sarvil   Composer
Nohain   Composer
Henri Battaille   Composer
Zimmer   Composer

Customer Reviews