American Woman [Expanded Deluxe Edition] [2 CD]

American Woman [Expanded Deluxe Edition] [2 CD]

by The Guess WhoThe Guess Who

CD(Special Edition)

$22.20 $22.99 Save 3% Current price is $22.2, Original price is $22.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 22


The Guess Who's most successful LP, reaching number nine in America (and charting for more than a year), has held up well and was as close to a defining album-length statement as the original group ever made. It's easy to forget that until "American Woman," the Guess Who's hits had been confined to softer, ballad-style numbers -- that song (which originated as a spontaneous on-stage jam) highlighted by Randy Bachman's highly articulated fuzz-tone guitar, a relentless beat, and Burton Cummings moving into Robert Plant territory on the lead vocal, transformed their image. As an album opener, it was a natural, but the slow acoustic blues intro by Bachman heralded a brace of surprises in store for the listener. The presence of the melodic but highly electric hit version of "No Time" (which the band had cut earlier in a more ragged rendition) made the first ten minutes a hard rock one-two punch, but the group then veers into progressive rock territory with "Talisman." Side two was where the original album was weakest, though it started well enough with "969 (The Oldest Man)." "When Friends Fall Out," a remake of an early Canadian release by the group, attempted a heavy sound that just isn't sustainable, and "8:15" was a similar space filler, but "Proper Stranger" falls into good hard rock groove. Ironically, American Woman was the final testament of the original Guess Who -- guitarist/singer Randy Bachman quit soon after the tour behind this album; the group did endure and even thrive (as did Bachman), but American Woman represented something of an ending as well as a triumph. [In December 2017, American Woman was reissued in a digitally remastered two-CD Expanded Deluxe Edition including single versions of "American Woman" and "No Sugar Tonight," the 2000 album reissue bonus track "Got to Find Another Way," and previously unreleased session outtakes. The second disc comprises uncompleted tracks released by RCA in 1976 as the album titled The Way They Were. The set also includes an essay by co-producer Ralph Chapman.]

Product Details

Release Date: 12/15/2017
Label: Iconoclassic
UPC: 0888751652620
catalogNumber: 1043
Rank: 22962


Disc 1

  1. American Woman
  2. No Time
  3. Talisman
  4. No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature
  5. 969 (The Oldest Man)
  6. When Friends Fall Out
  7. 8:15
  8. Proper Stranger
  9. Humpty's Blues/American Woman (Epilogue)
  10. American Woman
  11. No Sugar Tonight
  12. Got to Find Another Way
  13. Close Up the Honky Tonks
  14. Not to Return
  15. Talisman
  16. Talisman
  17. No Sugar Tonight
  18. American Woman

Disc 2

  1. Silver Bird
  2. Species Hawk
  3. Runnin’ Down the Street
  4. Miss Frizzy
  5. Palmyra
  6. The Answer
  7. Take the Long Way Home

Album Credits

Customer Reviews