American Folk Blues Festival '62-'65: Highlights

American Folk Blues Festival '62-'65: Highlights




Taken from the five-CD set, American Folk Blues Festival: 1962-1965, these 17 tracks have been deemed the highlights. It's hard to argue with that assessment especially when it includes legends like Mississippi Fred McDowell, Howlin' Wolf, Muddy Waters, Memphis Slim, Sonny Boy Williamson, Buddy Guy, and T-Bone Walker. Any serious collector will want the full five-disc set, but these highlights are the perfect place for the curious blues novice to start.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/10/1997
Label: Evidence
UPC: 0730182608724
catalogNumber: 26087


  1. Highway 61
  2. Baby Please Don't Go
  3. Della Mae
  4. Wish Me Well
  5. Five Long Years
  6. Hound Dog
  7. Dust My Broom
  8. I'm in Love
  9. Everytime I Get to Drinkin'
  10. First Time I Met the Blues
  11. Slip-In Mules
  12. Love My Baby
  13. Five Long Years
  14. Dissatisfied
  15. Goin' Down Slow
  16. Crying at the Station
  17. Slow Down Woman

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eddie Boyd   Organ,Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Willie Dixon   Bass
Buddy Guy   Bass,Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
John Lee Hooker   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Big Walter Horton   Harp
J.B. Lenoir   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Memphis Slim   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Matt "Guitar" Murphy   Guitar
Hubert Sumlin   Guitar
Big Mama Thornton   Vocals,Track Performer
Sugar Pie DeSanto   Vocals,Track Performer
Mississippi Fred McDowell   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
T-Bone Walker   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Fred Below   Drums
Brownie McGhee   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Howlin' Wolf   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Shakey Jake Harris   Harp,Vocals,Track Performer
Lightnin' Hopkins   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Clifton James   Drums
Muddy Waters   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Jimmie Lee Robinson   Bass
Sunnyland Slim   Piano,Track Performer
Otis Spann   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Billy Stepney   Drums
Sonny Boy Williamson [II]   Harp,Vocals,Track Performer
Armand Jump Jackson   Drums

Technical Credits

Buddy Guy   Composer
T-Bone Walker   Composer
Jerry Gordon   Reissue Producer
Sigfried Loch   Producer
Eurreal Montgomery   Composer
Aaron Walker   Composer
Horst Lippmann   Producer
Alan Edwards   Reissue Producer
George Rothacker   Art Direction
J.J. Harris   Composer
Siegfied Loch   Producer

Customer Reviews