American Constitutionalism: Volume II: Rights and Liberties

American Constitutionalism: Volume II: Rights and Liberties

Paperback(3rd ed.)

Usually ships within 6 days


In American Constitutionalism, Third Edition, renowned authors Howard Gillman, Mark A. Graber, and Keith E. Whittington offer an innovative approach to the two-semester Constitutional Law sequence (Volume 1 covers Institutions and Volume II covers Rights and Liberties) that presents the material in a historical organization within each volume, as opposed to the typical issues-based organization. Looking at Supreme Court decisions historically provides an opportunity for instructors to teach--and for students to reflect on--the political factions and climate of the day. The third edition has been updated through the 2020 SCOTUS session, and features updated cases, analysis, illustrations, and figures.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780197527641
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication date: 10/01/2020
Edition description: 3rd ed.
Pages: 984
Product dimensions: 10.00(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

Howard Gillman is Chancellor and Professor of Law, Political Science, and History at the University of California, Irvine.

Mark A. Graber is the Regents Professor of Law at the University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law.

Keith E. Whittington is William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Politics at Princeton University.

Table of Contents

Brief Contents

Topical Outline of Volume II
Tables, Figures, Boxes, and Illustrations
Preface to the Third Edition

Part 1: Themes

1. Introduction to Rights and Liberties in American Constitutionalism

Part 2: Development

2. The Colonial Era: Before 1776
3. The Founding Era: 1776-1791
4. The Early National Era: 1791-1828
5. The Jacksonian Era: 1829-1860
6. The Civil War and Reconstruction: 1861-1876
7. The Republican Era: 1877-1932
8. The New Deal/Great Society Era: 1933-1968
9. Liberalism Divided: 1969-1980

Part 3: Contemporary Issues

10. The Reagan Era: 1981-1993
11. The Polarized Era: 1994-2008
12. The Contemporary Era: 2009-The Present


Customer Reviews