American Beauty [DualDisc]

American Beauty [DualDisc]

by Grateful Dead


View All Available Formats & Editions
3 New & Used Starting at $10.00


A companion piece to the luminous Workingman's Dead, American Beauty is an even stronger document of the Grateful Dead's return to their musical roots. Sporting a more full-bodied and intricate sound than its predecessor thanks to the addition of subtle electric textures, the record is also more representative of the group as a collective unit, allowing for stunning contributions from Phil Lesh (the poignant opener, "Box of Rain") and Bob Weir ("Sugar Magnolia"); at the top of his game as well is Jerry Garcia, who delivers the superb "Friend of the Devil," "Candyman," and "Ripple." Climaxing with the perennial "Truckin'," American Beauty remains the Dead's studio masterpiece -- never again would they be so musically focused or so emotionally direct. [The DVD side of this DualDisc release includes multiple enhanced mixes, interviews with Mickey Hart and Bob Weir, a photo gallery, and lyrics.]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/23/2004
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227438524
catalogNumber: 74385


Album Credits

Performance Credits

Grateful Dead   Primary Artist
Mickey Hart   Percussion,Group Member
Jerry Garcia   Guitar,Piano,Pedal Steel Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
New Riders of the Purple Sage   Guest Appearance
Bob Weir   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Robert Hunter   Group Member
Ned Lagin   Piano
Howard Wales   Organ,Piano
David Grisman   Mandolin
Bill Kreutzmann   Drums,Group Member
Phil Lesh   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Ron "Pigpen" McKernan   Harmonica,Vocals,Group Member

Technical Credits

Mickey Hart   Engineer,Remixing,Sound Design
Jerry Garcia   Composer
Grateful Dead   Producer,Audio Production
Bob Weir   Composer
Robert Hunter   Songwriter,Composer
Craig Anderson   Authoring
Stephen Barncard   Producer,Audio Production
Spencer Chrislu   Authoring
John Dawson   Composer
Tom Flye   Engineer
David Gans   Liner Notes
Phil Lesh   Composer
Ron "Pigpen" McKernan   Composer
David McLees   Executive Producer
Jeffrey Norman   Engineer
Rachel Gutek   Reissue Design
Daniel Goldmark   Editorial Research
McPherson   Authoring
George Lydecker   Authoring
Robin Hurley   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews