Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
All That's Left in the World

All That's Left in the World

by Erik J. Brown

Narrated by Barrett Leddy, Andrew Gibson

Unabridged — 10 hours, 6 minutes

Erik J. Brown
All That's Left in the World

All That's Left in the World

by Erik J. Brown

Narrated by Barrett Leddy, Andrew Gibson

Unabridged — 10 hours, 6 minutes

Erik J. Brown

Audiobook (Digital)

$22.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

$27.99 Save 18% Current price is $22.99, Original price is $27.99. You Save 18%.
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $22.99 $27.99

Overview

What If It's Us meets They Both Die at the End in this postapocalyptic, queer YA adventure romance from debut author Erik J. Brown. Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera, Alex London, and Heartstopper by Alice Oseman.

When Andrew stumbles upon Jamie's house, he's injured, starved, and has nothing left to lose. A deadly pathogen has killed off most of the world's population, including everyone both boys have ever loved. And if this new world has taught them anything, it's to be scared of what other desperate people will do . . . so why does it seem so easy for them to trust each other?

After danger breaches their shelter, they flee south in search of civilization. But something isn't adding up about Andrew's story, and it could cost them everything. And Jamie has a secret, too. He's starting to feel something more than friendship for Andrew, adding another layer of fear and confusion to an already tumultuous journey.

The road ahead of them is long, and to survive, they'll have to shed their secrets, face the consequences of their actions, and find the courage to fight for the future they desire, together. Only one thing feels certain: all that's left in their world is the undeniable pull they have toward each other.



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"A haunting story that’s sure to delight (and terrify). " — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"In allowing the protagonists moments of laughter and warmth amid so much loss, he gets to the terrifying heart of societal collapse: the loneliness and guilt of outliving friends and family—and the resulting hope in connection." — Publishers Weekly

"Brown has somehow achieved a book that is romantic, hilarious, warm-hearted, hopeful, and page-turningly thrilling all at once. I was hooked from beginning to end."  — Dahlia Adler, author of Cool for the Summer

"Tense, exciting, sometimes heartbreaking and always romantic, All That's Left in the World explores what it means to hold onto hope and humanity when the worst case scenario becomes reality. With characters you'll adore, and a fast-paced, mysterious plot that keeps you turning the pages as fast as you can devour them, this book is not to be missed."  — Sophie Gonzales, author of Only Mostly Devastated

“A timeless love story that could not be more appropriate for this moment, All That's Left in the World is a thrilling, heartfelt, and beautifully written debut.” — Tom Ryan, Lambda Award winning author of I HOPE YOU'RE LISTENING

“Survival is core to the queer experience, and in All That’s Left In the World, Brown takes that to apocalyptic extremes with the story of Andrew and Jamie. This is quintessentially brave, dangerous-in-the-best-way queer storytelling!”— — Adam Sass, award-winning author of Surrender Your Sons

All That’s Left in the World is unfailingly riveting and hopeful. A timely exploration of survival, trauma, and love stitched together with sharp wit and bone-deep emotion. Erik J. Brown is an invigorating voice to watch out for.” — Julian Winters, award-winning author of Running With Lions

"It’s difficult to say Andrew and Jamie are lucky, as each lost everyone they knew, but love like this—a small ember carefully tended until it erupts into a sustaining flame—is rare even when there are millions of people around you." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Sophie Gonzales

"Tense, exciting, sometimes heartbreaking and always romantic, All That's Left in the World explores what it means to hold onto hope and humanity when the worst case scenario becomes reality. With characters you'll adore, and a fast-paced, mysterious plot that keeps you turning the pages as fast as you can devour them, this book is not to be missed." 

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"It’s difficult to say Andrew and Jamie are lucky, as each lost everyone they knew, but love like this—a small ember carefully tended until it erupts into a sustaining flame—is rare even when there are millions of people around you."

Tom Ryan

A timeless love story that could not be more appropriate for this moment, All That's Left in the World is a thrilling, heartfelt, and beautifully written debut.

Julian Winters

All That’s Left in the World is unfailingly riveting and hopeful. A timely exploration of survival, trauma, and love stitched together with sharp wit and bone-deep emotion. Erik J. Brown is an invigorating voice to watch out for.

Dahlia Adler

"Brown has somehow achieved a book that is romantic, hilarious, warm-hearted, hopeful, and page-turningly thrilling all at once. I was hooked from beginning to end." 

Adam Sass

Survival is core to the queer experience, and in All That’s Left In the World, Brown takes that to apocalyptic extremes with the story of Andrew and Jamie. This is quintessentially brave, dangerous-in-the-best-way queer storytelling!”—

Kirkus Reviews

★ 2022-01-11
What do you do after the world has ended?

After an influenza strain with a mortality rate of 99.9% sweeps across the world, two survivors, White teens Jamie and Andrew, are brought together by happenstance after Andrew’s leg is caught in an abandoned bear trap and Jamie takes pity, welcoming him into his cabin. A promise of potential help from overseas sets the new pair off on a trek from Pennsylvania to Ronald Reagan National Airport in Washington, D.C., and beyond. Along the way, their encounters with different survivors test and strengthen their resolve and their bonds. The narrative, alternating between Andrew’s and Jamie’s first-person perspectives, is successful at relaying both teens’ reasons for making the journey; the story develops organically. Hints to big reveals are subtly scattered throughout, which should successfully hold curious readers’ attention: Many will be white knuckled as the twists and turns slowly unfold along with the boys’ romance. Those looking to escape the gloom and doom of Covid-19 news may shy away from the topic of a pandemic-driven apocalypse, but that would be a shame because this story delivers. Book clubs and discussion groups will have a lot to dig into, especially as the backstory of Andrew and a mysterious family, the Fosters, slowly unfolds. A haunting story that’s sure to delight (and terrify).

Readers will find this infectious; highly recommended. (Post-apocalyptic adventure. 12-18)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940172960642
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/04/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews