All Hits at the House of Blues

All Hits at the House of Blues

by Raphael SaadiqRaphael Saadiq


$17.77 $17.99 Save 1% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $17.99. You Save 1%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


What falsetto-leaning soul singer Raphael Saadiq lacks in vocal stamina, he makes up for with stellar songwriting and genre-bending musicianship. The former Tony! Toni! Tone! frontman capitalizes on his strengths on this double-disc live set, recorded at the Los Angeles House of Blues during Saadiq's tour to promote his critically acclaimed but poor-selling 2002 solo debut, Instant Vintage. With a fresh sound that pays homage to Hendrix-inspired rock, old-school soul, and gospel, Saadiq hits the mark on the funky "Excuse Me"; a rousing rendition of "Different Times," featuring talented up-and-coming singers Ledisi and Goapele; and a nostalgic, seven-song set performed by the Tonys, who reunited for this recording and deliver swoon-worthy renditions of "Lay Your Head on My Pillow" and "Anniversary." Although his short-lived collaboration with the "super-group" Lucy Pearl (featuring En Vogue's Dawn Robinson and A Tribe Called Quest's Ali Shaheed Muhammad) suggests otherwise, Saadiq clearly isn't afraid to share the spotlight, a fact he further demonstrates by lending the mike to outlandish soul singer Joi, who performs "Missing You" from her underrated Star Kitty's Revenge. All the Hits at the House of Blues makes for a riveting musical experience that ushers listeners front-and-center for a dynamic evening of inventive soul.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/11/2005
Label: Absolute Uk
UPC: 5037300482729
catalogNumber: 0048272
Rank: 60005

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Raphael Saadiq   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Keisha Jackson   Background Vocals
Robert Bacon   Guitar
Elijah Baker   Bass
Preston Crump   Bass
Joi   Track Performer
Whild Peach   Background Vocals
Kelvin Wooten   Tuba,Keyboards
Lejon Walker   Background Vocals
Khari Parker   Drums
David Garcia   Percussion
Little Charlie Bereal   Guitar
Dean "DC" Chares   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Kenneth Williams   Engineer
Snoop Dogg   Composer
Dallas Austin   Composer
David Blake   Composer
D'Angelo   Composer
Timothy Christian Riley   Composer
Carl Wheeler   Composer
Dwayne Wiggins   Composer
George Archie   Composer
Raphael Wiggins   Composer
Raphael Saadiq   Composer
Kamaal Fareed   Composer
Gerry Brown   Engineer
Calvin Richardson   Composer
John Tanksely   Engineer
Will Ragland   Art Direction
Pierre Rochman   Monitor Engineer

Customer Reviews