All Around Cowboy/Everything I've Always Wanted

All Around Cowboy/Everything I've Always Wanted

by Marty RobbinsMarty Robbins


$16.14 $16.99 Save 5% Current price is $16.14, Original price is $16.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, February 28
4 New & Used Starting at $9.87


Morello's 2016 two-fer pairs two of Marty Robbins' last records onto a single CD: 1979's All Around Cowboy and 1981's Everything I've Always Wanted. Neither of the LPs were blockbusters, but both did generate some modest hits and they function as something of a coda to Robbins' career. This is especially true of All Around Cowboy, which is his final collection of Western tunes, functioning as a sequel of sorts to his 1959 classic Gunfighter Ballads and Trail Songs. Produced by Billy Sherrill, All Around Cowboy is much softer than Gunfighter Ballads, both in sound and intention. Sherrill doesn't drape the album with excessive strings but keeps things lush, adding echoes to the acoustic guitars and vocals, threading in mariachi horns and choirs. There are tips of the hat to Robbins' past -- "San Angelo" can be seen as a sequel to "El Paso," the cowboy standard "Tumbling Tumbleweeds" is revisited -- and that only adds to the sweet, hazy nostalgia of the project and complements Robbins' easy charm. There's no grand concept here, no conscious revisiting of Robbins' roots, but that's what's good about All Around Cowboy: it reveals an old cowpoke casually returning to what he loves most, and it's hard not to find that endearing. Comparatively, Everything I've Always Wanted existed in the mainstream of 1981, playing off the softer sounds of the era, but it feels slightly old-fashioned in its sensibility. Some of this is due to the traditional aesthetics of the writing -- this material is proudly made in Music City, following formulas for both ballads and uptempo numbers, not to mention a couple of nods to cowboy tunes -- but the whole feel of Everything I've Always Wanted is a bit stuffy, emphasizing Robbins' crooning. By many measures, this is as much an adult contemporary soft rock record as it is a country-pop one, designed to appeal to mature audiences left behind by modern music. Appropriately, Everything I've Always Wanted didn't chart -- "An Occasional Rose" scraped the Billboard charts at 28, "Completely Out of Love" stalled at 47 -- but it's a pleasant enough record, notable for how it exists at a crossroads between both styles and eras, a soft pop album with the songs of the '50s and the sounds of the '70s released in the '80s.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/24/2016
Label: Imports
UPC: 5013929895539
catalogNumber: 5070023
Rank: 59801


  1. All Around Cowboy
  2. The Dreamer
  3. Pride and the Badge
  4. Restless Cattle
  5. When I'm Gone
  6. Buenos Dias Argentina
  7. Lonely Old Bunkhouse
  8. San Angelo
  9. Tumbling Tumbleweeds
  10. Ballad of a Small Man
  11. The Woman in My Bed
  12. Completely Out of Love
  13. There's No Wings on My Angel
  14. Holding on to You
  15. Gene Autry, My Hero
  16. My Greatest Memory
  17. I'll Go on Alone
  18. Another Cup of Coffee
  19. Occasional Rose
  20. Crossroads of Life

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews