Album of the Year [Bonus Tracks]

Album of the Year [Bonus Tracks]

by Faith No MoreFaith No More


View All Available Formats & Editions


Faith No More's 1997 release Album of the Year featured the talents of another new guitarist, Jon Hudson, who replaced Dean Menta (Menta only toured with the group in support of King for a Day before being dismissed). Like King for a Day, Album is more straightforward musically than past releases and remains one of FNM's most focused and concise works. Recorded in bassist Billy Gould's home studio, Album of the Year would turn out to be their last studio recording before splitting up in 1997. A trio of outstanding tracks -- "Stripsearch," "Last Cup of Sorrow," and "Ashes to Ashes" -- blend hard rock and pop melodicism the way only FNM can, while "Helpless" is an unpredictable composition that alternates between heavy guitar riffing and Mike Patton's tempered vocals. The explosive album opener, "Collision," and "Naked in Front of the Computer" show that the band can still compose prime heavy rockers, while other musical forms were included as well (the romantic ballad "She Loves Me Not," the evil boogie of "Home Sick Home," and the Middle Eastern sounds of "Mouth to Mouth"). For the gripping album closer, "Pristina," the '90s turmoil in Yugoslavia is used as a backdrop for a tale of lovers being separated due to war. Album of the Year was a fitting way for one of alt-rock's most influential and important bands to end its career. [Album of the Year was re-released with eight bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 09/09/2016
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0190295973025
catalogNumber: 557031

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Faith No More   Primary Artist
Mike Bordin   Drums,Group Member
Roddy Bottum   Keyboards,Group Member
Bill Gould   Bass Guitar,Group Member
Mike Patton   Vocals,Group Member
Jon Hudson   Guitar,Group Member

Technical Credits

Faith No More   Producer,Art Direction
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Mike Bordin   Composer
Roddy Bottum   Composer,Liner Notes
Hal David   Composer
Warren Entner   Direction
Bill Gould   Composer,Producer
Roli Mosimann   Producer
Mike Patton   Composer
Daniel Presley   Engineer
Katherine Delaney   Art Direction
Jon Hudson   Composer
Robert Preston   Engineer
Michael Bogus   Engineer
John Vassiliou   Direction

Customer Reviews