Ain't Gonna Hush

Ain't Gonna Hush

by Saffire -- The Uppity Blues WomenSaffire -- The Uppity Blues Women


$18.64 $18.99 Save 2% Current price is $18.64, Original price is $18.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Saffire -- The Uppity Blueswomen have been making CDs for more than a decade, putting feminism, good sex, and lesbian power into the blues. On Ain’t Gonna Hush! the acoustic trio of Gaye Adegbalola, Andra Faye, and Ann Rabson once again claim the territory of Ma Rainey and Bessie Smith, raving about the female enjoyment of sex on “Footprints on the Ceiling,” getting down in the blues with “Happy Birthday to Me,” and shouting about speaking their minds on “Ain’t Gonna Hush.” For the romantic “Coffee Flavored Kisses” they touch on the swing territory of the Andrews Sisters and fly into a righteous rage on “Blues for Sharon Bottoms,” the saga of a lesbian mother whose own mom took her child away from her. For boogie fans there’s the anthemic “Prop Me Up Beside the Jukebox,” while “Once in a While” and “Nobody Ever Touched Me There,” have an old-time country feel. Ain’t Gonna Hush! is pure Saffire, sparkling with these women's unique take on the blues

Product Details

Release Date: 06/05/2001
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551488026
catalogNumber: 4880
Rank: 72571

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Saffire -- The Uppity Blues Women   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Gaye Adegbalola   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Background Vocals
Bruce Iglauer   Background Vocals
Ann Rabson   Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals
Andra Faye   Bass,Fiddle,Guitar,Mandolin,Vocals,Background Vocals
Juno Pitchford   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Saffire -- The Uppity Blues Women   Producer
Bruce Iglauer   Producer
David Lowery   Composer
John Ward   Composer
Sidney Bailey   Composer
Chris Murphy   Engineer
Edward Townsend   Composer

Customer Reviews