by Musiq (Soulchild)Musiq (Soulchild)


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%. View All Available Formats & Editions


With the boundless harmonies and melodies of vintage Stevie Wonder and Donny Hathaway floating through his Afro-coiffed head, newcomer Musiq Soulchild summons the creative roots of '70s soul music. But like his neo-soul contemporaries D'Angelo and Lauryn Hill, Musiq gives the music of his forebears a new-jack twist on his debut, Aijuswanaseing. He cross-pollinates classic soul with a variety of sounds -- gospel on the spirited ballad "You Be Alright," hip-hop on "L' Is Gone," which includes a live band interpretation of the kick-drum driven beat of the Roots' "Next Movement," and jam-session funk on a remake of the Patrice Rushen classic "Settle for My Love." From the carefree lead single "Sunny (Just Friends)" (which appeared on the Nutty Professor II soundtrack) to the playful "Girl Next Door" -- which was cowritten by fellow Philadelphian Jill Scott -- the 23-year-old scores major points with the ladies with sweet sentiments such as "If there's anything that you want, you need/Don't be afraid to ask 'cause you're my girl." With Aijuswanaseing, Musiq not only honors the soulful good vibe of his favorites, he also contributes to the next wave of soul classics, which should in turn influence another generation of inspired musicians. Tracy E. Hopkins

Product Details

Release Date: 11/14/2000
Label: Def Soul Classics
UPC: 0731454828925
catalogNumber: 548289

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Musiq (Soulchild)   Primary Artist,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals
Pino Palladino   Bass
James Poyser   Organ,Keyboards,Wurlitzer
Francesco Romano   Guitar
Leonard Hubbard   Bass
Andre Harris   Strings,Keyboards
Eric Roberson   Background Vocals
Isaac Phillips   Guitar
Vidal Davis   Drums,Keyboards
Osunlade   Bass,Drums,fender rhodes
Ayana   Vocals,Background Vocals
Ayinke   Vocals,Background Vocals
Junius Bervine   Keyboards
Eric Tribbett   Drums
Ben Kenney   Electric Bass
Pete Kuzma   Piano,Keyboards

Technical Credits

Louis Alfred   Engineer
Larry Gold   String Arrangements,String Conductor
Ed King   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
James Poyser   Producer
Jon Smeltz   Engineer
Storm   Engineer
Serban Ghenea   Engineer
Andre Harris   Producer
Eric Roberson   Vocal Arrangements
Keith Pelzer   Engineer,Vocal Arrangements
Jill Scott   Vocal Arrangements
Musiq (Soulchild)   Executive Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Vikter Duplaix   Producer,drum programming
Osunlade   Producer
Ivan "Orthodox" Barias   Producer
Junius Bervine   Producer
Akisia Grigsby   Art Direction
Jerome Hipps   Executive Producer
Michael McArthur   Executive Producer
Frank Sutton   Engineer

Customer Reviews