After Number 10: Former Prime Ministers in British Politics

After Number 10: Former Prime Ministers in British Politics

by K. Theakston


$103.50 $115.00 Save 10% Current price is $103.5, Original price is $115. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Having lost an election, been thrown out by their party, or retired on grounds of ill-health, what do former British prime ministers do? In the first book to look at the lives,political roles and influence of former prime ministers, Theakstonanalyzes all the former prime ministers from Walpole in the 18th century to Blair today.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780230202184
Publisher: Palgrave Macmillan UK
Publication date: 05/07/2010
Series: Understanding Governance
Edition description: 2010
Pages: 269
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

KEVIN THEAKSTONis Professor of British Government at the University of Leeds, UKand is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society. His previous books include: Leadership in Whitehall (1999), Winston Churchill and the British Constitution (2004), and (edited) British Foreign Secretaries Since 1974 (2004).

Table of Contents

Introduction Walpole to Shelburne Addington to Melbourne Peel to Rosebery Salisbury to Asquith LLoyd George to Chamberlain Attlee to Douglas-Home Heath to Callaghan Thatcher to Blair Comparative Perspectives

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews