Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Acoustic Christmas

Acoustic Christmas

by Neil Diamond Neil Diamond
Acoustic Christmas

Acoustic Christmas

by Neil Diamond Neil Diamond


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 17


Re-teaming with Don Was and Jacknife Lee, the pair who produced his 2014 album Melody Road, Neil Diamond cut Acoustic Christmas, his fourth holiday album and first since 2009's A Cherry Cherry Christmas. The title Acoustic Christmas suggests that this 2016 LP will be sparse, but it's hazy and open, consisting of much more than a man and a guitar. Usually he's supported by a full band -- a rhythm section, another guitarist, a keyboardist, and backing vocalists -- and that gives Acoustic Christmas some spunk, which is enough to keep things lively. If Diamond isn't always original -- his version of "Children Go Where I Send Thee" follows the contours of Nick Lowe's 2013 version exactly -- he nevertheless performs with gusto, particularly on the closing "Christmas Medley." That showmanship is ultimately what gives Acoustic Christmas its personality and is the reason to return to the record: it may not align with the spirit of the season, but it's charming nonetheless.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/28/2016
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0602547494719
catalogNumber: 002384502
Rank: 33055


  1. O Holy Night
  2. Do You Hear What I Hear?
  3. Christmas Prayers
  4. Hark the Herald Angels Sing
  5. Mary's Boy Child
  6. Silent Night
  7. Go Tell It On the Mountain
  8. Children Go Where I Send Thee
  9. Christmas In Killarney
  10. Christmas Medley: Almost Day/Make a Happy Song/We Wish You a Merry Chri

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Neil Diamond   Primary Artist
Matt Rollings   Keyboards
Paul Beasley   Background Vocals
Richard Bennett   Guitar
John Grab   Trombone
Hadley Hockensmith   Guitar
Nick Lane   Euphonium
Darrell Leonard   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Jamie Muhoberac   Keyboards
Tim Pierce   Guitar
Sebastian Steinberg   Bass
Oren Waters   Background Vocals
Joey Waronker   Drums
Julia Waters   Background Vocals
Robbie Hioki   Bass Trombone
Eric Gorfain   Violin,Conductor
Stephanie O'Keefe   French Horn
Benjamin Moore   Background Vocals
Joey Williams   Background Vocals
Eric "Ricky" McKinnie   Background Vocals
Bruce Carver   Bodhran
Patrick D'Arcy   uillean pipes
Maxine Waters   Background Vocals
Lester Lovitt   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Jimmy Carter   Background Vocals
Kira Ott   Irish Fiddle
Don Markese   Flute,Ocarina

Technical Credits

Pete Seeger   Composer
Neil Diamond   Composer,Adaptation
Ronnie Gilbert   Composer
Lee Hays   Composer
Fred Hellerman   Composer
Huddie Ledbetter   Composer
Don Was   Producer
Bernie Becker   Vocal Engineer
Todd Gallopo   Art Direction
Noel Regney   Composer
Jester Hairston   Composer
James Cavanaugh   Composer
Frank Weldon   Composer
Eric Gorfain   Horn Arrangements
Traditional   Composer
Tom McFall   Engineer
Jacknife Lee   Producer
Nicolas Essig   Engineer
Davide Rossi   String Arrangements
Gloria Shayne Baker   Composer
Micah Diamond   Art Direction
Ari Michelson   Cover Photo,Inside Photo
John Redmond   Composer
Matt Tuggle   Engineer
Kyle Stevens   Engineer
Pablo Hernandez   Engineer
Don Markese   Flute Arrangement

Customer Reviews