Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Ace Frehley

Ace Frehley

by Ace Frehley Ace Frehley
Ace Frehley

Ace Frehley

by Ace Frehley Ace Frehley

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, March 30


Of the four Kiss solo albums released simultaneously in 1978, the best of the bunch is guitarist Ace Frehley's. Similar in approach to Paul Stanley's album, Frehley did not stray far from the expected heavy Kiss sound (like Gene Simmons and Peter Criss did with their releases), but Ace was equipped with better compositions than Stanley. With future Late Night with David Letterman drummer Anton Fig helping out (as well as Letterman bassist Will Lee on three tracks), Frehley proved once and for all that he was not simply a backup musician to Kiss head honchos Simmons and Stanley. All of the tracks are strong, such as the venomous opener, "Rip It Out," as well as a few tracks that confirm how Frehley was indulging in alcohol and drugs a bit too much by the late '70s ("Snow Blind," "Ozone," and "Wiped Out"). You'll also find many underrated compositions ("Speedin' Back to My Baby," "What's on Your Mind?," "I'm in Need of Love"), a gorgeous instrumental ("Fractured Mirror"), and the Top 20 hit single "New York Groove." Unfortunately, when Ace left Kiss in 1982 (eventually forming Frehley's Comet), he never came close to topping this solid and inspired 1978 solo outing.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/04/2006
Label: Lilith
UPC: 8013252911415
catalogNumber: 114
Rank: 20211


  1. Rip It Out
  2. Speedin' Back to My Baby
  3. Snow Blind
  4. Ozone
  5. What's on Your Mind?
  6. New York Groove
  7. I'm in Need of Love
  8. Wiped-Out
  9. Fractured Mirror

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ace Frehley   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Synthesizer Guitar,Track Performer
David Lasley   Vocals,Background Vocals
Susan Collins   Vocals,Background Vocals
Anton Fig   Percussion,Drums
Larry Kelly   Vocals,Background Vocals
Will Lee   Bass
Bill Scheniman   Vocals,Bells
Carl Tallarico   Drums

Technical Credits

Ace Frehley   Producer
Eddie Kramer   Producer,Engineer
Bobby McAdams   Guitar Techician
Mitchell Kanner   Redesign
Robert V. Conte   Liner Notes
Eraldo Carugati   Artwork,Paintings,Cover Painting
Howard Marks Advertising   Cover Design
Rob Freeman   Engineer

Customer Reviews