Academy Award Winning Songs, Vol. 4 (1970-1981)

Academy Award Winning Songs, Vol. 4 (1970-1981)


1 New & Used Starting at $31.37


The Envelope Please...Academy Award Winning Songs, Vol. 4 (1970-1981) doesn't have as many great songs as the previous three volumes, or songs that became classics of their era, largely because the Academy never came to terms with rock & roll. There are a few exceptions, such as Isaac Hayes' immortal "Theme from Shaft," but for the most part, they favored middle-of-the-road pop. Of course, there is some good MOR pop here -- Vikki Carr's "For All We Know," Maureen McGovern's "We May Never Love Like This Again," Keith Carradine's "I'm Easy," Debby Boone's "You Light Up My Life" and Christopher Cross' "Arthur's Theme (Best That You Can Do)" -- but none of them match the highlights from the first three volumes. Also, Rhino couldn't get licensing for some hits, which means "The Way We Were" is sung by Shirley Bassey, not Barbra Streisand, and "Fame" is by Erica Gimpel, not Irene Cara. Although such subsititutions are understandable, they're irritating and devalue the collection's worth as a historical document and as a nostalgia piece.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/27/1996
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227227920
catalogNumber: 72279


  1. For All We Know
  2. Theme from Shaft
  3. Morning After
  4. Way We Were
  5. We May Never Love Like This Again
  6. I'm Easy
  7. Evergreen
  8. You Light up My Life
  9. Last Dance
  10. It Goes Like It Goes
  11. Fame
  12. Arthur's Theme (Best That You Can Do)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Debby Boone   Track Performer
Shirley Bassey   Track Performer
Vikki Carr   Track Performer
Maureen McGovern   Track Performer
Christopher Cross   Track Performer
Donna Summer   Track Performer
Jennifer Warnes   Track Performer
Keith Carradine   Track Performer
Bar-Kays   Track Performer
Isaac Hayes   Track Performer
Paul Williams   Track Performer
Erica Gimpel   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Joseph Spence   Illustrations
James Griffin   Composer
Will Ackerman   Composer
Wally Bryson   Composer
Fred Karlin   Composer
Gary Peterson   Discographical Annotation
Paul Grein   Liner Notes
Joseph Brooks   Composer
Barry E. Eames   Art Direction
Robb Wilson   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews