About Face

About Face

by David GilmourDavid Gilmour

CD(Remastered / Reissue)

$8.69 $9.99 Save 13% Current price is $8.69, Original price is $9.99. You Save 13%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


David Gilmour released his second solo venture in 1984, following the apparent dissolution of Pink Floyd. He had released a record on his own in 1978, but About Face is much more accessible. Gilmour has a stellar band backing him, including Jeff Porcaro (drums), Pino Palladino (bass), and Anne Dudley (synthesizer). The songs on About Face show a pop sensibility that Pink Floyd rarely was concerned with achieving. Although the album didn't attract the attention of a Floyd release, several cuts did manage to get airplay. "Until We Sleep" is rife with shimmering synthesizers and cavernous drums, and "Blue Light" was a minor pop hit, with Gilmour's trademark delay-drenched guitar giving way to a driving, horn-laced rocker. Pete Townshend wrote two of the tracks: "Love on the Air" and the propulsive "All Lovers Are Deranged." Of course, there's more than enough of Gilmour's fluid guitar playing to satisfy, including the gorgeous "Murder," a gentle acoustic track that explodes with some fiery organ by Steve Winwood and concludes with a fierce coda. About Face is well-honed rock album that is riveting from beginning to end.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/12/2006
Label: Sony
UPC: 0828768151723
catalogNumber: 81517
Rank: 5111

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Gilmour   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Roy Harper   Vocals
Steve Winwood   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Jon Lord   Synthesizer
Anne Dudley   Synthesizer
National Philharmonic Orchestra   Strings
Sam Brown   Vocals
Vicki Brown   Vocals
Ray Cooper   Percussion
Bob Ezrin   Keyboards
Mickey Feat   Vocals
Kick Horns   Horn
Luis Jardim   Percussion
Ian Kewley   Piano,Keyboards,Hammond Organ
Roddy Lorimer   Horn
Pino Palladino   Bass,Bass Guitar
Jeff Porcaro   Percussion,Drums
Steve Rance   Keyboards,fairlight
Tim Sanders   Horn
Barbara Snow   Horn
Louis Jardine   Percussion
Simon Clerk   Horn
Rob Ezrin   Keyboards
Simon Clarke   Horn

Technical Credits

Michael Kamen   Arranger
Bob Ezrin   Arranger,Producer
David Gilmour   Producer
Andrew Jackson   Engineer
Steve Rance   Programming
Eric Tomlinson   Engineer
Kit Woolven   Engineer
Bob Finn   Producer

Customer Reviews